Sponsored

To Lift or Not to Lift that is the question....(Newbie here)

mgroeger

First Name
Mike
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 JLUR 2.0T, 1991 YJ rock crawler
Occupation
I make microchips for a living.
Vehicle Showcase
I went with a Rough Country budge boost, basically it uses existing springs and shocks, was wanting a more elaborate boost suspension but after talking to @TTEChris of Tankcustoms he suggested the Rough Country to suit my needs, I’m not a serious rock crawler and the Sahara is my daily driver so using this kit it maintains the factory ride and still gives me clearance to run 35’s to allow me to do some off roadimg and beach running.
Second this.
We did the RC 2" BB which is 2.5" up front to take the rake out and 2" in the rear. Still rides nice and has a great stance now. We threw on 33" Rubi/rims/tires and it looks great. We also wheel it on some pretty rough trails with a bit of rock crawling with no problems.
For $180 you can't go wrong. It's a great intro to having a lift (and pretty easy to do if you are mechanically capable). If you decide to go bigger or full suspension later you've only "lost" $180 in the process.
I also agree to ride as is at least for a little bit. My wife knew right away that she was not going to ride factory for long... lol.
Sponsored

Uhdinator

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 JL Sport HT 2.0T Auto, 2003 TJ Rubicon HT
Vehicle Showcase
I just reread your post and you mention Tough Country then Rough Country, these are two different makers of lift kits, the RC boost I had installed uses shock extenders, spacers and bumpstops so my shocks and springs have the same travel, the TC appears not to use the extenders so if that’s the case then you would need new shocks