Tires and rotation

Outdoors55

First Name
Chris
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 JLU Sahara
im new to owning a wrangler and having a full size spare tire on the back. Do most of you rotate it in with the 4 on the Jeep? We have the stock AT that came with the upgraded wheels and they seem great on the road, anyone have any idea how long the tread should last?

What is the length of time dry rot takes to really make your spare unusable?
Sponsored

Sting_NC_USA

First Name
Michael
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Jeep Wrangler JL Unlimited Rubicon
Build Thread
Link
Vehicle Showcase
Definitely rotate your spare in. I'm not sure of the tread wear on your particular tires, but you should be able to find that data by going to a website such as TireRack, then entering your tire brand/specs. Rotating the 5th one in will extend your tread wear.

You can prevent tire rot of the spare by cleaning it when you clean your Jeep, and also by treating it from time to time with something like Aerospace 303 Protectant. It's what I used on our boat, and all of my past Jeeps, to protect the non-metal parts.

Congrats on purchasing your new Wrangler and welcome to the group!

American Jeeper

First Name
Jeremy
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 JLUR
Occupation
Software & cloud services
Vehicle Showcase
im new to owning a wrangler and having a full size spare tire on the back. Do most of you rotate it in with the 4 on the Jeep? We have the stock AT that came with the upgraded wheels and they seem great on the road, anyone have any idea how long the tread should last?

What is the length of time dry rot takes to really make your spare unusable?