Mike
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 JLUR 2.0T, 1991 YJ rock crawler
Occupation
I make microchips for a living.
Vehicle Showcase
So it's been one year and 22,000 miles and typically I do a throttle body cleaning once a year. I like to use Sea Foam in the aerosol can as I have had good experience with it for years. Spray it in while at idle, shut off engine, let sit 15 mins, redline the sucker down the road and watch plooms of white spoke fill the air.
That being said the last vehicles were a '05 Highlander and '08 Accord coupe. I always threw check engine lights and sometimes they would go away as I was redlining those cars down the road and sometimes I'd disconnect the battery for a few mins and it would all clear up.
Now we have this beast which is half computer and I'm thinking I don't want to be the first guy to try this, so.... anyone tried this yet? If not what did you use?
Sponsored

GreyFox

First Name
Brandy
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
17 JKU, 19 JL
Please forgive my ignorance, but what's the purpose of the sea foam?

OP
OP
mgroeger

mgroeger

First Name
Mike
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Occupation
Vehicle Showcase
Please forgive my ignorance, but what's the purpose of the sea foam?
Google it :)
In short, when it is sprayed in as an aerosol it clings to everything in the intake. When you let it sits for 15 mins it will soak into any crud in their and loosen it up. When you drive the vehicle like you stole it it blows all that crud out. Mopar also has a spray in throttle body cleaner that supposedly works well.
A throttle body and intake system will crud and carbon up over time so I don't want to go too long without doing this but like I said the freaking thing is a computer with big tires and a winch.

OP
OP
mgroeger

mgroeger

First Name
Mike
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Occupation
Vehicle Showcase
It’s your money, but you can 100% neglect your throttle body and it will stil last forever.