Thinking about Colorado or Montana

dshark1

First Name
Sunny
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 Rubicon JLR
Total newbie here! I Always wanted to visit Colorado/Montana. Would leave today if I knew where to go! Lol…. Any recommendations for just scenic routes , fishing & back country?
nothing crazy, no rock crawling. Just want to take in the beautiful sites, picnic and be off the grid for a bit, take in some nature? If u had to pick between the 2 states, which would it be? I would be traveling from Florida. Any info & lodging ideas would be highly appreciated.
Sponsored

Adv_aw8s

First Name
Rob
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 Rubicon diesel
Clubs

For Colorado I would definitely head toward the Silverton area and explore the alpine loop, all the big passes around ouray and telluride. There is plenty to see and experience.

OP
OP
dshark1

dshark1

First Name
Sunny
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 Rubicon JLR
For Colorado I would definitely head toward the Silverton area and explore the alpine loop, all the big passes around ouray and telluride. There is plenty to see and experience.
Thx for your input. Lots of lodging in that area?

Adv_aw8s

First Name
Rob
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 Rubicon diesel
Clubs

If you are not camping there are options in Durango, Silverton, Ouray, and Telluride.

Themistocles

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
'03 Ram 2500 Cummins / 20 JLURD
Build Thread
Link
For Montana...so many options.

A must see is the Beartooth Highway / Pass Beartooth Highway is the most beautiful drive in America (dangerousroads.org) running between Cooke City and Red Lodge.

I would also recommend getting into the Pintlers Anaconda-Pintler Wilderness: An Excellent Choice for Adventure - This is Montana - University Of Montana (umt.edu)

As wells as seeing the Swan Swan Valley in Montana - AllTrips (allwhitefish.com)