The 8.4 radio is really bad.

mackh4x0r

First Name
Thomas
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon
I don't know what Jeep did here. This radio is unacceptably bad. It's slow, laggy, and glitchy. Trying to make Android Auto work with it is nearly impossible. Some days it'll work perfectly, others it'll constantly have issues. The first boot-up of the radio shows no icons (as a software developer myself, I don't know how it can possibly be so slow where icons take 30 seconds to load).

Mostly I'm angry about the Android auto implementation. Does anyone else have this kind of issue?

1) Sometimes when first connecting my music plays through one speaker and adjusting the volume on the radio adjusts the navigation voice volume. Reconnecting the device fixes it.
2) Device not supported errors
3) Not recognized at all (no response from the radio when connected)
4) Random disconnects from any of the USB ports

I have replaced the cable multiple times. Sometimes hard rebooting the radio fixes it. Sometimes it's my phone being silly. Does anyone else have issues like this? My radio is version 39.3.
Sponsored

JollieOllie

First Name
Ollie
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 Firecracker Red Unlimited Rubicon 4xe
Vehicle Showcase
I don't know what Jeep did here. This radio is unacceptably bad. It's slow, laggy, and glitchy. Trying to make Android Auto work with it is nearly impossible. Some days it'll work perfectly, others it'll constantly have issues. The first boot-up of the radio shows no icons (as a software developer myself, I don't know how it can possibly be so slow where icons take 30 seconds to load).

Mostly I'm angry about the Android auto implementation. Does anyone else have this kind of issue?

1) Sometimes when first connecting my music plays through one speaker and adjusting the volume on the radio adjusts the navigation voice volume. Reconnecting the device fixes it.