Steering corrected finally.

astglenn

First Name
Glenn
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 JLU
So, like many others, I chased the lousy steering around in my 2019 JL Sahara. It sucked stock. It sucked more with the MOPAR 2 1/2” come 4” lift kit. Whoever designed that needs a quick moment with the tape measure and a carpenter. Took the MOPAR kit off and deposited in shop dumpster. Save the shocks. They are great. Next move was Synergy springs and Teraflex 1” spacers, 8 each Alpine Teraflex adjustable radius arms and the really expensive Teraflex track bar. The one with so much play in the joints that it sounds like a 300 dollar snare drum all the time. Also allows the suspension to wander around just enough to induce a beat frequency into the geometry. So. Out with the garbage track bar. (Im sure its structurally awesome. It just has no business being installed where its supposed to be. Im a qualified structural engineer. I know these things right? Lol. So lets see. In the dumpster we have a MOPAR lift kit and one Track Bar. At 6.4 degrees of caster and 1/8” of toe, with the tires inflated to the pressure in J-Lo’s lips, it drives sort of ok. Not good enough! So into the steering gear we proudly go. With TSB in hand, I approached a local dealer in Arkansas. I am visiting from California for 2 months and had my jeep shipped out. What the hell. Life has been good to me. Spend a little. Well the dealer says that in 3 weeks time he will “Diagnose” the issue and then maybe 10 days later, install the replacement box as instructed. To whit, I says, lets read this together slowly. Look! It says “IF CUSTOMER COMPLAINS OF WONDERING, REPLACE STEERING BOX WITH THIS PART NUMBER AND THESE BOLTS. REFLASH ELECTRIC STEERING. ISE xxx FLUID. nothing about diagnosing anyrhing. No opinions needed. Chrysler figured out that an aluminum steering box, with aluminum gears (yup) and a steel sector shaft, do not good steering make. After 2 days I simply bought the box and kit from an adver