Sponsored

Start your Jeep with dead key fob (but don't pop the start button out)

mgroeger

First Name
Mike
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 JLUR 2.0T, 1991 YJ rock crawler
Occupation
I make microchips for a living.
Vehicle Showcase
Talked to my sales guy and said how do I start this thing if the key fob is completely dead and useless. He said pop your key on the key fob and use it to open your door. Then take a small screw driver and gently pop the start/stop button out, behind it is a place to stick the key. NICE! Haven't tried it yet but it's good to know. That plus the secret hidden automatic transmission park release seem to be the two hidden things that will come in very handy.

I would highly recommend reading this thread...
https://www.jlwranglerforums.com/fo...eo-highly-recommended.5573/page-3#post-123321
Sponsored

mwilk012

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Ocean Blue JLU Rubicon
Occupation
Service
Yea, don't do that. Just poke the button with the fob like flyairam said. It uses an RFID signal that requires no power on the key end.

JL Rubi Khan

First Name
Jake
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon JL, 2015 Ford Mustang GT Limited Edition (#1525 of 1964), 2016 Harley-Davidson Sportster 1200 Custom
Vehicle Showcase
OP should edit the post to make sure nobody reads his initial post and then goes off and pops their start/stop button off, lol. Similar to how I wish I had never watched the install video for the all-weather cargo mat set, as that guy led me to believe I needed to yank my gap cover out to install. Worth repeating for others installing the cargo mats... do not remove your gap cover from the bracket it's in - not worth it!!

OP
OP
mgroeger

mgroeger

First Name
Mike
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 JLUR 2.0T, 1991 YJ rock crawler
Occupation
I make microchips for a living.
Vehicle Showcase