Service Electronic Throttle Control Resolutions

Hawknz8

New Member
First Name
Steven
Joined
Jun 30, 2020
Messages
4
Reaction score
2
Location
Oklahoma City
Vehicle(s)
2020 JLU Rubicon ecoDiesel
I’ve looked through the forums about Service Electronic Throttle Control but haven’t really seen what is being done to resolve these issues, can anyone shed some light on what the dealers are doing to fix the problem and if they are recurring?
I’ve had my JLUR ecoDiesel for less than 24 hours and it is in the shop for this throttle problem.





Advertisement

 

nerubi

Well-Known Member
First Name
Mike
Joined
Nov 28, 2018
Messages
3,994
Reaction score
4,932
Location
Nebraska
Vehicle(s)
2019 JLR, 2020 VW Tiguan
Occupation
Retired
Vehicle Showcase
1
From the ecidieselram forum:

The reason that comes on is something in the pcm is detecting a condition that can lead to an immediate failure that may leave the vehicle stranded in an intersection or other dangerous condition, it can be from almost anything on the truck, most likely its a loose connector anywhere on the vehicle, there are quite a few complaints about it on our ecodiesels. , one quick question though, are you even slightly touching the brake pedal while your touching the gas pedal? major no-no on our trucks, that message will come up if your touching both pedals at the same time, keep it up and the truck will completely disable the throttle all together for 30 seconds, then shut the truck off.
 

nerubi

Well-Known Member
First Name
Mike
Joined
Nov 28, 2018
Messages
3,994
Reaction score
4,932
Location
Nebraska
Vehicle(s)
2019 JLR, 2020 VW Tiguan
Occupation
Retired
Vehicle Showcase
1
Since the engine has been in the Ram for awhile the dealer has a set of procedures to follow to determine cause and fix. Let them do their job.
 
OP

Hawknz8

New Member
First Name
Steven
Joined
Jun 30, 2020
Messages
4
Reaction score
2
Location
Oklahoma City
Vehicle(s)
2020 JLU Rubicon ecoDiesel
  • Thread starter
  • Thread Starter
  • #5
Since the engine has been in the Ram for awhile the dealer has a set of procedures to follow to determine cause and fix. Let them do their job.
As long as there is confidence in the resolution to the problem, I’m willing to let them take their time.
 

nerubi

Well-Known Member
First Name
Mike
Joined
Nov 28, 2018
Messages
3,994
Reaction score
4,932
Location
Nebraska
Vehicle(s)
2019 JLR, 2020 VW Tiguan
Occupation
Retired
Vehicle Showcase
1
As long as there is confidence in the resolution to the problem, I’m willing to let them take their time.
Most times issues are resolved, sometimes not. Thirty five years ago had a stumbling problem when accelerating my new Z28. Back then there weren't codes to track down issues. Factory even sent out an engineer but couldn't solve it. They gave me a new vehicle.
 

JeepCares

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2018
Messages
3,688
Reaction score
1,594
Location
Auburn Hills, MI
Vehicle(s)
JL
I’ve looked through the forums about Service Electronic Throttle Control but haven’t really seen what is being done to resolve these issues, can anyone shed some light on what the dealers are doing to fix the problem and if they are recurring?
I’ve had my JLUR ecoDiesel for less than 24 hours and it is in the shop for this throttle problem.
Hi Steven,
We're sorry to learn about your experience with your new Jeep Wrangler EcoDiesel. If additional support is needed, please feel free to send our team a private message. We would be happy to connect you and your dealer with a Case Specialist.
Alex
Jeep Cares
 

rodend

Member
First Name
Rob
Joined
Aug 22, 2020
Messages
7
Reaction score
3
Location
Alpharetta
Vehicle(s)
Jeep Wrangler JL ecoDiesel
As long as there is confidence in the resolution to the problem, I’m willing to let them take their time.
Since I’m going through this now with my brand new JL eco diesel, just wondering what the fix in your case was and has it stayed “fixed”. We get the “bad” on the forums and sometimes it helps to see where things just got....well.... fixed

I’m like you, as long as they are confident they fix it and it stays fixed, I’m good. I’m going on a trip out of state next week and I don’t want to worry.
Thanks,
 
OP

Hawknz8

New Member
First Name
Steven
Joined
Jun 30, 2020
Messages
4
Reaction score
2
Location
Oklahoma City
Vehicle(s)
2020 JLU Rubicon ecoDiesel
  • Thread starter
  • Thread Starter
  • #10
Since I’m going through this now with my brand new JL eco diesel, just wondering what the fix in your case was and has it stayed “fixed”. We get the “bad” on the forums and sometimes it helps to see where things just got....well.... fixed

I’m like you, as long as they are confident they fix it and it stays fixed, I’m good. I’m going on a trip out of state next week and I don’t want to worry.
Thanks,
Dealer checked it out, and made sure the batteries were charged and I haven’t had any problem with it since. I’ve put on 4000 miles in the last 45 days.
 

Amaruq

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2020
Messages
888
Reaction score
1,041
Location
Atlanta
Vehicle(s)
JLR 6spd
I’m having this problem with my 3.6 on Imogene. Is there a fuse to check/reseat?
 

JimLee

Well-Known Member
First Name
Jim
Joined
Mar 29, 2019
Messages
874
Reaction score
1,825
Location
Too damn close to Death Valley
Vehicle(s)
'19 JLU
I’m having this problem with my 3.6 on Imogene. Is there a fuse to check/reseat?
You can disconnect the batts and do a full reset. Just make sure you disconnect the all the grounds next to the main batt on the fender wall along with the batt ground cable or it'll still be getting powered by the moped battery.
 

Amaruq

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2020
Messages
888
Reaction score
1,041
Location
Atlanta
Vehicle(s)
JLR 6spd
You can disconnect the batts and do a full reset. Just make sure you disconnect the all the grounds next to the main batt on the fender wall along with the batt ground cable or it'll still be getting powered by the moped battery.
Thank you. I will try that too. Letting it cool down a bit.
 

JimLee

Well-Known Member
First Name
Jim
Joined
Mar 29, 2019
Messages
874
Reaction score
1,825
Location
Too damn close to Death Valley
Vehicle(s)
'19 JLU
I’m having this problem with my 3.6 on Imogene. Is there a fuse to check/reseat?
No fuse listed for throttle control. I imagine it's done through the PCM, if you had a PCM fuse blown/ loose you'd have a lot more problems than you currently have. You could also check the connector on your throttle body. It's at the engine end of the air filter tube right before the intake manifold, the connector is on the bottom of the unit.
 

Advertisement




Jim Marsh Chrysler Jeep
 



Advertisement
Top