Screen stuck on backup camera

CurryLB

Member
First Name
Curry
Joined
Jan 1, 2020
Messages
8
Reaction score
2
Location
Atlanta
Vehicle(s)
2019 Rubicon JLU
Put the Jeep in reverse and back up camera comes on. Then when putting it in drive the screen stays on the backup camera and it never goes off. None of the buttons work to change the screen to anything else. It fixes itself after turning the Jeep off for a while. Wondering if anyone has experienced this and has an immediate fix?





Advertisement

 

jludave

Well-Known Member
First Name
David
Joined
Feb 13, 2020
Messages
965
Reaction score
622
Location
The Isle of Long
Vehicle(s)
2020 Wrangler Unlimited Sport Altitude
Don't have a specific answer, but try popping the hood then open the fuse box. Check to make sure all fuses and relays are seated properly. Weird electrical issues are usually fixed with this simple check. The JL/U is known to leave the factory with loose relays and fuses.
 
OP
CurryLB

CurryLB

Member
First Name
Curry
Joined
Jan 1, 2020
Messages
8
Reaction score
2
Location
Atlanta
Vehicle(s)
2019 Rubicon JLU
  • Thread starter
  • Thread Starter
  • #3
Don't have a specific answer, but try popping the hood then open the fuse box. Check to make sure all fuses and relays are seated properly. Weird electrical issues are usually fixed with this simple check. The JL/U is known to leave the factory with loose relays and fuses.
Alright, Definitely worth a shot. Thanks!
 

JeepCares

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2018
Messages
4,269
Reaction score
2,048
Location
Auburn Hills, MI
Vehicle(s)
JL
Put the Jeep in reverse and back up camera comes on. Then when putting it in drive the screen stays on the backup camera and it never goes off. None of the buttons work to change the screen to anything else. It fixes itself after turning the Jeep off for a while. Wondering if anyone has experienced this and has an immediate fix?
Hi @CurryLB,
We are sorry to hear that this is happening! Have you brought this to the attention of your dealer? If you would like our additional support while your vehicle is in service, feel free to send us a private message.

Kathryn
JeepCares
 
OP
CurryLB

CurryLB

Member
First Name
Curry
Joined
Jan 1, 2020
Messages
8
Reaction score
2
Location
Atlanta
Vehicle(s)
2019 Rubicon JLU
  • Thread starter
  • Thread Starter
  • #5
Hi @CurryLB,
We are sorry to hear that this is happening! Have you brought this to the attention of your dealer? If you would like our additional support while your vehicle is in service, feel free to send us a private message.

Kathryn
JeepCares
I have not taken it to the dealership. It would be hard to replicate for them as it only happens intermittently. I have gotten some pretty good feedback I am going to try.
 

JeepCares

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2018
Messages
4,269
Reaction score
2,048
Location
Auburn Hills, MI
Vehicle(s)
JL
I have not taken it to the dealership. It would be hard to replicate for them as it only happens intermittently. I have gotten some pretty good feedback I am going to try.
@CurryLB,
We certainly understand your hesitation. Once you do have a dealer appointment, please let us know via private message. We would be happy to offer our additional assistance to your service.

Kathryn
JeepCares
 

Thashef

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2018
Messages
87
Reaction score
31
Location
Northern NJ
Vehicle(s)
2018 JLU Sahara - Bright White
@CurryLB did you ever solve this? I have the same issue. It started right after installing a lift kit.
 

ASMSAS

Well-Known Member
First Name
Marlene
Joined
Apr 21, 2019
Messages
141
Reaction score
202
Location
NorCal
Vehicle(s)
2018 JLUR
Occupation
Aviation
I got the blue screen of death when I put the back up camera on this week. I took it to the dealership and they found a software update for the whole radio/camera system and loaded it. That fixed it for me. Might for you too?
 

Willing&Able

Well-Known Member
First Name
Mark
Joined
Mar 21, 2020
Messages
50
Reaction score
31
Location
Rockford, IL
Vehicle(s)
2019 JLUR
Have the same issue. To the dealership multiple times. There as we speak/type. They've done all of the software updates aren't seeing any error codes.

Someone on a FB forum provided a bulletin that after installing a lift kit you need to reset the system by disconnecting battery (inc aux) and then reconnecting. You then have to drive for 20-40 seconds with constant, light throttle for it to 'relearn'.....

Sounds like a voodoo shot in the dark, but will try anything.

I have the V6 w 6MT with lift and 37's if that helps.
 

Advertisement




Quadratec
 



Advertisement
Top