Threads
Reaction score
Website
www.ronlutzii-photographer.com
Vehicle(s)
2019 JL Wrangler Sport Unlimited
Occupation
Photographer
So I've been driving manual Jeeps since the 1980's. My last wrangler was a 2004. I'm at the dealership now picking up my new 2019 JLU Sport. Went to go on my first inspection drive having only test driven the automatic transmission.

Get in, look at the knob, note that reverse is the first "notch" so put it in 1st.

Stall. Repeatedly. Get it going up the hill. Stall at the stop sign. Really have to dump it. Lots of smoke. Finally make it down the road and stop for gas.

THAT'S when I realize you have to pull up that red ring to engage reverse. I'd been starting it in 3rd the whole time!

I'm an idiot. Don't be me...
Sponsored

krucam

First Name
Mark
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Nissan Xterra, 2019 JLR ordered 12/22/2018
Occupation
FAA
So I've been driving manual Jeeps since the 1980's. My last wrangler was a 2004. I'm at the dealership now picking up my new 2019 JLU Sport. Went to go on my first inspection drive having only test driven the automatic transmission.

Get in, look at the knob, note that reverse is the first "notch" so put it in 1st.

Stall. Repeatedly. Get it going up the hill. Stall at the stop sign. Really have to dump it. Lots of smoke. Finally make it down the road and stop for gas.

THAT'S when I realize you have to pull up that red ring to engage reverse. I'd been starting it in 3rd the whole time!

I'm an idiot. Don't be me...
Lol and thanks. I’m getting to pull the trigger on a real Jeep also. There are very, very few 2-door, soft top, manuals here on dealer lots. May order without Auto without ever driving a stick JL also...

Hydroboy35th

First Name
Josh
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 JLR
Vehicle Showcase