Quote to regear vs. DIY regear...

JLRubiMD

First Name
Garrett
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 JLUR
Just got a $2400 quote from the local shop to regear front and rear JLUR Dana 44s to 4.88s, I'm in the Midwest and wanted to see ballpark wise where that quote compared. Would like to use Dana Spicer Advantek gears and master kits, parts come in at just over $1000 if I bought them myself. I have a AEV Procal Snap to reprogram afterwards... so $1400 labor seems steep though I may be missing something having never done a regear myself. After watching a few videos and reading posts on guys regearing their JLs, I'm tempted to tackle it, but this is my daily driver however and the margin for error seems big enough I'm willing to consider paying someone on this one.

If anyone did a first time ever regear on their own JL, I'd love to hear how it went. I may get more motivated to give it a go. I'm not a mechanic by profession but have always done all of my own work on cars/Jeep. With the exception of a press I have all the tools, and I'm sure I'll be able to either weld up a press or find a local shop to press in the pinion if that's the only limiting factor. Heck, HF sells a 12 ton shop press for 129.99 plus I can usually dig up a 20% off coupon.
Sponsored

Last edited:

WandererJL

First Name
Nate
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 JLU Sport
I got a quote from a shop here in FL and it came in at $1600 in labor, so the number doesn't seem too far off. I'm with you, I will be tackling the regear on my JLU this weekend so I guess I will see how it goes...

I have done a regear on a F150 in the past and it wasn't incredibly difficult, just need to set aside proper time and take it slow.

OP
OP
JLRubiMD

JLRubiMD

First Name
Garrett
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 JLUR