atagher

First Name
Andrew
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Toyota Rav4
Hey all,

I'm looking at purchasing a used Wrangler and have taken a look at a couple cars in the past few days. Today I came across a 2013 Sahara with ~55K miles... one owner, no accidents, has lived its life in New England.

I took a look at the underside and have the attached pictures to share. I know that rust is an issue with these cars and ultimately I'm looking for something that I can make last a number of years. I'm not too experienced with rust/rot issues and was curious to hear some feedback around whether or not this looks typical for something 6 years old from NE? What do you all think? Any advice?

Thanks,
Andrew

IMG_20190612_181927.jpg

IMG_20190612_181839.jpg

IMG_20190612_181924.jpg

IMG_20190612_181854.jpg

IMG_20190612_181817.jpg
Sponsored

TroyBoy

First Name
Troy
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 JLUR
That does look like a lot of rust. My 2008 I sold last year didn’t have near that much. That rear shock mount is nasty! Makes me wonder about areas you can’t see.

multicam

First Name
Tanner
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 4Runner, 2019 JLR
Vehicle Showcase
Yup, I’d stay away. That’s like 25 year old jeep rust, not six. Aim higher!

Sponsored

Shepherd12

First Name
Josh
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
18 JLR HellaYella m/t
Occupation
Something about cryogenics
This is a pretty easy deal to pass up. Looks like this one waded through some flood waters at some point. Maybe Hurricane Sandy?

Jeepinjack66

First Name
Lisa
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 JL Rubicon
Occupation
IT