Sponsored

Oops while taking door off

First Name
Mike
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Toyota Camry
Hi all, newbie here. Took doors off for the first time. The little arm on the inside door where the third screw is got smashed into it's hole when the wind closed the door after I unscrewed it. Any tips to bring it back out? It's also a rental...
Sponsored

melendez69

First Name
Marc
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 3.6 JLR / 2013 911 / 2013 E92 M3
Occupation
...huh?
Vehicle Showcase
Hi all, newbie here. Took doors off for the first time. The little arm on the inside door where the third screw is got smashed into it's hole when the wind closed the door after I unscrewed it. Any tips to bring it back out? It's also a rental...
You ain't the first, and you won't be the last... you'll get it out. Check here.

ThirtyOne

Threads
Reaction score
Website
www.jeepdoodles.com
Vehicle(s)
2021 JLU Rubicon, 2017 Chevy Tahoe
Build Thread
Link
The easiest way is to close the door almost all the way and pull the door check out just enough that you can get the bolt on and thread it just one or two turns into the jeep. Then you can open the door to pull the door check out and tighten the bolt.

Sponsored

wchevron

First Name
Matt
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 JT, 2020 JLU
Do what ThirtyOne said above. I just did the same thing on mine. Was trying to pull them out without any luck. Closed the door almost all the way and the bolt hole will line up enough where you can start the bolt, then be able to pull them all the way out.

dchemphill1

First Name
David
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 Wrangler Rubicon Recon
Occupation
School Administrator
Too prevent this from happening in the first place, I wrapped a small bunjee cord around the door check so it can not get pushed into the door while I am taking them off, during storage or putting them back on....so far seems to have worked.

Sponsored

Heimkehr

First Name
James
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)