Sponsored

Onboard Inverter Question - Charging 12v RV battery?

LincolnSixAlpha

First Name
Brian
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon
Vehicle Showcase
I'm putting together an overland build for an upcoming trip, and included in this is an ARB fridge. I've got the fridge, and ARB Fridge wiring kit installed on my jeep. However I'd like to boondock for a bit, so I'm considering putting together a 12V battery kit to run the fridge while I'm stationary. While in transit, I'd like to recharge the battery, so I can either use the ARB adapter which uses 10AGW wiring all the way to the batter, or something like this well-rated charger that will tackle the 125Ah battery I plan on using:

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B000FRLO9Y/ref=psdc_15707061_t1_B00PKIBVU0

As I'm not an electrician, I'm just curious if it would simply make more sense to use the charger with the onboard inverter, or just plug that battery into the ARB 12v socket and let it charge in that manner?
Sponsored

robaw

First Name
Rob
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 JLU MOAB (MOJITO!), 2009 Honda CBR600RR
I'm putting together an overland build for an upcoming trip, and included in this is an ARB fridge. I've got the fridge, and ARB Fridge wiring kit installed on my jeep. However I'd like to boondock for a bit, so I'm considering putting together a 12V battery kit to run the fridge while I'm stationary. While in transit, I'd like to recharge the battery, so I can either use the ARB adapter which uses 10AGW wiring all the way to the batter, or something like this well-rated charger that will tackle the 125Ah battery I plan on using:

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B000FRLO9Y/ref=psdc_15707061_t1_B00PKIBVU0

As I'm not an electrician, I'm just curious if it would simply make more sense to use the charger with the onboard inverter, or just plug that battery into the ARB 12v socket and let it charge in that manner?