Odd behavior from Aux Switches

offcamber

Well-Known Member
First Name
Bob
Joined
Aug 7, 2017
Messages
1,014
Reaction score
1,278
Location
Dallas, TX
Vehicle(s)
2012 Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon, 2014 Grand Cherokee Limited Ecodiesel
I originally wired my Baja Designs LP9 Pros to my factory aux switches. Aux 3 is the running light, Aux 1 is low beam and Aux 2 is high beam. It's worked fine for me until a couple of days ago. Now whether I hit Aux 1 or 2, it triggers the high beam. The low beam does't trigger. I checked the wires with a meter and when I press Aux 1 or 2, the wire going to the high beam circuit goes hot, but the low beam wire never does. Anyone seen it malfunction like that. Aux 1 lights up like it's on, but it's sending power to the Aux 2 wire instead.
Advertisement

 

WAOLIFE

Well-Known Member
First Name
Adrian & Josie
Joined
Jun 11, 2019
Messages
402
Reaction score
306
Location
So Cal
Vehicle(s)
2019 JLUM - 3.6L - Sky Touch & 2015 WK2O - 3.6L - IG: @wa0life
Occupation
Fiddler of Parts
I originally wired my Baja Designs LP9 Pros to my factory aux switches. Aux 3 is the running light, Aux 1 is low beam and Aux 2 is high beam. It's worked fine for me until a couple of days ago. Now whether I hit Aux 1 or 2, it triggers the high beam. The low beam does't trigger. I checked the wires with a meter and when I press Aux 1 or 2, the wire going to the high beam circuit goes hot, but the low beam wire never does. Anyone seen it malfunction like that. Aux 1 lights up like it's on, but it's sending power to the Aux 2 wire instead.
Sounds like a short either in the wiring or the lights themselves?

Did you buy the wiring harness or make it?
 
OP
OP

offcamber

Well-Known Member
First Name
Bob
Joined
Aug 7, 2017
Messages
1,014
Reaction score
1,278
Location
Dallas, TX
Vehicle(s)
2012 Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon, 2014 Grand Cherokee Limited Ecodiesel
Sounds like a short either in the wiring or the lights themselves?

Did you buy the wiring harness or make it?
Its a BD harness, I just cut the switch and relay out of it.
 

WAOLIFE

Well-Known Member
First Name
Adrian & Josie
Joined
Jun 11, 2019
Messages
402
Reaction score
306
Location
So Cal
Vehicle(s)
2019 JLUM - 3.6L - Sky Touch & 2015 WK2O - 3.6L - IG: @wa0life
Occupation
Fiddler of Parts
Its a BD harness, I just cut the switch and relay out of it.
Unlikely that the Jeep factory wiring is crossed, but you never know.
 

jlewissystem

Well-Known Member
First Name
J
Joined
Jan 24, 2019
Messages
1,086
Reaction score
2,085
Location
STL
Vehicle(s)
2019 JLUR MANUAL Mojito!
Build Thread
Link
Vehicle Showcase
1
Where did you test the wires? Factory AUX has leads on the inside and hood. Might check both locations to ensure that it’s a “factory” issue.
 
Advertisement

Gibson Leatherworks
 
Advertisement
Top