Noob looking for company at Big Bear around July 4

El Zilcho

First Name
Max
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 JLU Sport, Rubicon axles
Hi, I going to be at Big Bear from July 1 to 5. I really want to try Gold Mountain trail, but I'm a total noob. I did several easy and intermediate trails in Anza Borrego and around San Diego, but thats it. I have a JLU Sport (so no lockers yet) with Rubicon lift and tires and a winch. Anybody gonna do Gold Mountain Trail around this time and dont mind a total noob tagging along?
Sponsored

jessedacri

First Name
Jesse
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 Bright White 2dr JL Rubicon 3.6
Hi, I going to be at Big Bear from July 1 to 5. I really want to try Gold Mountain trail, but I'm a total noob. I did several easy and intermediate trails in Anza Borrego and around San Diego, but thats it. I have a JLU Sport (so no lockers yet) with Rubicon lift and tires and a winch. Anybody gonna do Gold Mountain Trail around this time and dont mind a total noob tagging along?

Try joining all of the local Facebook groups too, lots of activity on those. Socal Jeeps, Socal 4x4 trail, socal off road trail reports, socal off road recovery, etc. The groups are pretty active and always have runs happening either impromptu or planned.

I'd also recommend at a minimum you have the Rubicon takeoff sliders to protect the sport's bare pinch seam. You'll most likely be bumping that area a little on Gold Mountain and you definitely want a little protection there if you're running bare pinch seams. The rubi sliders aren't the best option for sliders due to where they mount up but mine have so far taken a beating and been okay.

OP
OP
El Zilcho

El Zilcho

First Name
Max
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)