No tire pressure showing after tire change

Chris1331

New Member
First Name
Christian
Joined
Sep 23, 2020
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Location
Baltimore
Vehicle(s)
Jeep rubicon
Hi all,
Just replaced my 2017rubicon tires, the replacement has tpms sensor, but my sensor gauge was not reading any tire pressure and my check engine light is on. What should I do? Thanks.





Advertisement

 

OlderSpice

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2020
Messages
49
Reaction score
80
Location
Santa Clarita, CA
Vehicle(s)
2020 Jeep JLU Sport
Pretty sure it's a $40 for labor visit to the dealer to link your new sensors to your vehicle. There might be a cheaper or at home option that I'm not aware of
 

Stuckinthesand

Well-Known Member
First Name
CJ
Joined
Apr 6, 2020
Messages
364
Reaction score
254
Location
NJ
Vehicle(s)
2019 Wrangler sport s 2017 GMC Acadia
Check engine and TPMS are completely separate.
IF the new wheels truly have TPMS they are auto relearn. You drive the Jeep and the new pressures register.
TPMS are not auto relearn. I just had 35’s put on mine and the shop had to go to each wheel and program the TPMS.
 

UNC Rubicon

Well-Known Member
First Name
Bret
Joined
Mar 27, 2018
Messages
1,412
Reaction score
2,349
Location
Kernersville, NC
Vehicle(s)
2019 Billet Silver JLUR
Vehicle Showcase
1
TPMS are not auto relearn. I just had 35’s put on mine and the shop had to go to each wheel and program the TPMS.
No one had to program my TPMS when I swapped mine. I put them in, drove for several miles and they registered without issue.
 

Goin2drt

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 25, 2017
Messages
2,230
Reaction score
2,517
Location
Kentucky (formerly Peoples Republik of Kalifornia)
Vehicle(s)
18 Rubicon, 17 Grand Cherokee Trailhawk
TPMS are not auto relearn. I just had 35’s put on mine and the shop had to go to each wheel and program the TPMS.
Sorry but you are incorrect. On Jeep they are absolutely auto relearn. Mount the correct TPMS and go drive.
 

Stuckinthesand

Well-Known Member
First Name
CJ
Joined
Apr 6, 2020
Messages
364
Reaction score
254
Location
NJ
Vehicle(s)
2019 Wrangler sport s 2017 GMC Acadia
Sorry but you are incorrect. On Jeep they are absolutely auto relearn. Mount the correct TPMS and go drive.
Yeah I was wrong. Not sure why they had to program mine when I got new wheels and tires. I left the factory ones in my original wheels.
 

Unkle Fester

Member
First Name
Kendall
Joined
Aug 17, 2020
Messages
23
Reaction score
20
Location
Abandoned Graveyard
Vehicle(s)
2020 JLU Rubicon Recon
TPMS automatically resets, so you can rotate tires without reprogramming. Back in July, I had a flat in a rental Jeep on a long road trip and within 30 seconds After changing the tire, the TPMS system reset. Rented another Jeep two weeks ago (I hate rentals) while working out of towns and got another flat. Changed it and the TPMS didn’t reset until I fixed the flat and put air into it (250 miles Later).

both flats were in off road conditions and due to not deflating the well worn tires before heading down a trail.
 

Goin2drt

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 25, 2017
Messages
2,230
Reaction score
2,517
Location
Kentucky (formerly Peoples Republik of Kalifornia)
Vehicle(s)
18 Rubicon, 17 Grand Cherokee Trailhawk
Yeah I was wrong. Not sure why they had to program mine when I got new wheels and tires. I left the factory ones in my original wheels.
I can tell you why. Most wheel and tire places are clueless when it comes to TPMS. They are good with a few of the cars that they do all the time. Get outside their comfort zone and they are a mess. Programming and relearning are certainly challenging to most. Sadly there is no standardization of process. Each auto maker does things differently. Toyota/Lexus completely different from Jeep. You would think all manufacturers would just be auto relearn but they are not. Also no real training to be had as lots of these shops just get there TPMS from the same place they buy all their other shop tools so they do not get the customer support, training needed.
 

Stuckinthesand

Well-Known Member
First Name
CJ
Joined
Apr 6, 2020
Messages
364
Reaction score
254
Location
NJ
Vehicle(s)
2019 Wrangler sport s 2017 GMC Acadia
I can tell you why. Most wheel and tire places are clueless when it comes to TPMS. They are good with a few of the cars that they do all the time. Get outside their comfort zone and they are a mess. Programming and relearning are certainly challenging to most. Sadly there is no standardization of process. Each auto maker does things differently. Toyota/Lexus completely different from Jeep. You would think all manufacturers would just be auto relearn but they are not. Also no real training to be had as lots of these shops just get there TPMS from the same place they buy all their other shop tools so they do not get the customer support, training needed.
I’d agree with you. However the shop I went to specializes in jeeps so I’m sure they are aware of how it works. I’m not an expert on TPMS but maybe something to do with going from stock tires and wheels to aftermarket. Just a guess I really have no clue.
 

Stuckinthesand

Well-Known Member
First Name
CJ
Joined
Apr 6, 2020
Messages
364
Reaction score
254
Location
NJ
Vehicle(s)
2019 Wrangler sport s 2017 GMC Acadia
So after I googled this it seems if you buy an aftermarket universal tpms it may need programmed or cloned to OEM. My guess is that’s what happened.
 

Goin2drt

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 25, 2017
Messages
2,230
Reaction score
2,517
Location
Kentucky (formerly Peoples Republik of Kalifornia)
Vehicle(s)
18 Rubicon, 17 Grand Cherokee Trailhawk
I’d agree with you. However the shop I went to specializes in jeeps so I’m sure they are aware of how it works. I’m not an expert on TPMS but maybe something to do with going from stock tires and wheels to aftermarket. Just a guess I really have no clue.
So after I googled this it seems if you buy an aftermarket universal tpms it may need programmed or cloned to OEM. My guess is that’s what happened.
Buying a "programmable" sensor it has to be programmed for that vehicle but once it is programmed it is installed just like an OEM sensor and is auto relearn. With an OEM sensor you just install them and drive away for auto relearn. For Jeep there is nothing needed and even can be done in the OBD as there is not that capability. Maybe the shop was "programming" them but for a "relearn" there is no connection that is needed or can even be done.
 

Stuckinthesand

Well-Known Member
First Name
CJ
Joined
Apr 6, 2020
Messages
364
Reaction score
254
Location
NJ
Vehicle(s)
2019 Wrangler sport s 2017 GMC Acadia
Buying a "programmable" sensor it has to be programmed for that vehicle but once it is programmed it is installed just like an OEM sensor and is auto relearn. With an OEM sensor you just install them and drive away for auto relearn. For Jeep there is nothing needed and even can be done in the OBD as there is not that capability. Maybe the shop was "programming" them but for a "relearn" there is no connection that is needed or can even be done.
Gotcha. Thanks for the information.
 

Advertisement




D&C Designs
 



Advertisement
Top