Mike
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 JLUR 2.0T, 1991 YJ rock crawler
Occupation
I make microchips for a living.
Vehicle Showcase
I bought a 2018 in 2019 and have been driving it for a few months. Was under the jeep today and saw a lot of brown spots. Found this thread and saw what people call porous welds, what ever happened with y'all's cases?

IMG_20200119_230809.jpg
Your welds are fine. What you are seeing is the paint chips off the weld because the weld wasn't cleaned properly before being painted. That's all over the place on these Wranglers. The people with problems have porous welds that are rusting or spots where there should be a weld and there isn't one. A porous weld looks like the inside of a bone, if that makes sense.
Sponsored

Sebuh

First Name
Sebuh
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Jeep Wrangler Sport Unlimited
So this track bar weld with the hole in it is okay?

IMG_20200120_092745.jpg

Sebuh

First Name
Sebuh
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
It's hard to see the hole it's in the back part. There are parts with a lot of splatter also. What am I supposed to do. I found some welds that had way more holes in them. Like they were bubbles that popped.

mgroeger

First Name
Mike
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Occupation
Vehicle Showcase
It's hard to see the hole it's in the back part. There are parts with a lot of splatter also. What am I supposed to do. I found some welds that had way more holes in them. Like they were bubbles that popped.
That splatter is common as well. I can't really see any sort of hole in any of those pics. If you are concerned the best thing to do is take it to the dealer and point to the specific welds you are concerned about and see what they say. Also, and probably a better idea, is to go to a private welder and show them.
Maybe take some better pics and post here and see if anyone has more to add.

Sebuh

First Name
Sebuh
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)