First Name
Andy
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 Ocean Blue JLUR
Occupation
Retired Navy
I want to buy my new JLU in April but I have a 1,200 trip from TN to NY planned in June. No wheelin' involved, just highway miles (approx. 75-80 mph). Is 1.5 to 2 months of around town driving enough to break in time before a long road trip?
Sponsored

Chocolate Thunder

First Name
Jeremy
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon
Build Thread
Link
I bought my Jeep on a Saturday afternoon and drove it about 50 miles home. I drove it about 600 miles on Sunday.

Avoid high speeds and RPM and don’t drive at a constant speed (cruise control) for any long distance. It’ll be fine.

mgroeger

First Name
Mike
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 JLUR 2.0T, 1991 YJ rock crawler
Occupation
I make microchips for a living.
Vehicle Showcase
I want to buy my new JLU in April but I have a 1,200 trip from TN to NY planned in June. No wheelin' involved, just highway miles (approx. 75-80 mph). Is 1.5 to 2 months of around town driving enough to break in time before a long road trip?
You'll be fine. Just at least get around 500 miles on the engine with some around town and even highway driving in before you go. You should be able to do that in 2 months I would hope :).
The key is don't buy it off the lot, get on the highway and set the cruise at 70 and then hold at steady RPM for 1000 miles... lol.
The first 500 miles or so it's a good idea to vary the RPMs, i.e. don't use cruise control. Speed doesn't really matter, it's RPMs you care about. You can go 30mph and keep it in a gear that holds 3,000 RPM and that would be worse for the egine than doing 70mph varying your RPMs. After 500 miles I would change the oil/filter and then drive as you see fit.

OP
OP
JeepNomad

JeepNomad

First Name
Andy
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 Ocean Blue JLUR
Occupation
Retired Navy