Sponsored

New Headlights Damage BCM?

OffDutyPRU

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 Wrangler
Has anyone ever heard off new installed LED headlights causing a short circuit to the body control module damaging it to the point it needs a full replacement?
Other mechanics and my cousin who’s an avionics engineer for the Canadian forces all said the dealership is bsing me and avoiding to fix under warranty...
Sponsored

mwilk012

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Ocean Blue JLU Rubicon
Occupation
Service
Yes it’s totally possible. Would have to be a serious failure of the LED headlights though to draw enough current to crap out the BCM before blowing a fuse.

OP
OP
OffDutyPRU

OffDutyPRU

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 Wrangler
I'm also an Avionics Engineer and I agree.

The only time it could possibly cause this issue is if the light is shorted or faulty on the inside, which can be proven on a bench with a power supply. OR if the battery wasn't disconnected during installation and the harness itself was shorted somehow. Bent pins, possibly.

They're avoiding the repair under warranty. I would get a-hold of the MFG of the light and talk to them next.

Can you provide more info?

Part number of the light you installed?
Copy of the invoice from the dealership to see what they wrote down? I'm curious if they called out the connector or module by it's nomenclature or reference designation.

Also... check your fuses.

FYI - I Support the Canadian Air Force regularly with their fleet of aircraft. Good group of guys up there.
Hey Mitchel. Please look at my previous post

https://www.wranglerforum.com/threads/please-assist.2413426/#post-34897904

My Jeep is still in the shop. I’ve contacted the manufacture of the lights and they said “Our lights pass the strict QC test and make sure it can be work before shipping, sorry that we never got the feedback like this before.”