First Name
Darryl
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 JLUW Sport 2.0 L Turbo
Hello all.

Well last day here in NC.
First a word on the Jeep. My wife and I, two dogs and the back loaded to roof left for NC last Friday. One word about the jeep. WOW! I think it drives, handles and just does everything very well for what it is. I averaged 22 to 38 miles to the gallon at various speeds of course but most of the time 75 to 80 miles per hour. Fantastic.

So we were off road pretty much every day. Some places I couldn't tell you where exactly we were, cause I have no clue. First day though we went out Cataloochee. It's just a dirt road with some old buildings. Nice ride beautiful.

This guy showed up for breakfast a couple days. That's the big Elk.

Windrock, wow. So I am a beginner, I know this, this is my first Jeep. The trip over was 125 miles. We got a late start, it was 25 degrees out that morning. I have some recovery gear, first aid kit blankets, tool kit, food, etc. But no winch, no recovery strap and a stock JLU Willy's. Point is as much as I would have loved to do a couple BOH trails it rained the day before and after speaking to a few people there with a lot more experience it was advised not to. We did G2,G5,G6,G7,and G39. All easy trails, supposedly. Some were pretty hairy and you could easily bottom out in multiple places, Wich I did once. My fault I picked the wrong line. There was a lot of mud and water on every trail and the jeep slide in a number of places. Fortunately I kept it from hitting any big rocks.

So at the end of the day we had a blast ( wife freaked out some and said I need to lift it and bigger tires lol) no damage to the jeep, didn't need a winch, didn't need to be pulled out and made it back to the cabin after dark. Long day but well worth it.

One pic. The morning we left with a frosted jeep. And upon return with brown wheels instead of black. Lol.

Also went to chimney rock. That was cool.