Vehicle(s)
2021 JLUR XR
Build Thread
Link
Occupation
Sparky
Vehicle Showcase
Clubs

EDIT: for those wondering the functional beadlock ring is Mopar Part number P5160154

I struggled with this the first time around, but have picked up a few tricks along the way that I figured I would share for the next guy struggling to wrestle some fresh rubber. I'm by no means an expert, and I've done some stuff that others will surely disagree with; using power tools, using anti seize on the beadlock bolts, and re-using these bolts to name a few (I blew a sidewall with <5k miles on the first tire, they're still practically new, however they have been torqued before and should likely be replaced). Do not take this as a definitive DIY guide, and make sure you understand the risks involved in running beadlocks, as well as mounting and inflating them.

With that out of the way, it's time for pictures!

Step 1 - get the face of your rim into the tire, I have been able to work with my local Discount Tire to get this done on their machine. They only mount the back bead of the tire for obvious liability reasons, but it allows me to skip this step. I know it can be done at home with lots of lube but I'm not that guy.

Step 2 - clean your rim and beadlock rings. (I didn't get any pictures of cleaning the rim before I decided I was going to do a write up, but you get the idea here)

Step 3 - Buy new hardware. Seriously, don't just throw them in your ultrasonic cleaner and call it good like I did.

Jeep Wrangler JL My Guide to Mounting Tires on XR Beadlocks IMG_2409.JPG
Jeep Wrangler JL My Guide to Mounting Tires on XR Beadlocks IMG_2411.JPG

Step 4 - Line up your valve stem with your chosen alignment dot, before you put the wheel/tire on the bucket and get to work. This is also a great time to lube all the bead surfaces on both the tire and the wheel so you don't have to fight it later. Use lots of lube

Jeep Wrangler JL My Guide to Mounting Tires on XR Beadlocks IMG_2410.JPG