Mike
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 JLUR 2.0T, 1991 YJ rock crawler
Occupation
I make microchips for a living.
Vehicle Showcase
Did you buy and install them? If so, what do you think about them so far? I'm interested in this step solution, too, as I want to keep my stock Rubi rails, but my Mrs wants a step. I saw in one of the early posts the stock rails have to come off for install, so that does make a little apprehensive given the forum posts about the difficulty of some of the bolts and breakage, but this is as close to a compromise solution as I've seen so far.
Stock rails and side steps come off in about 10 mins if that. Both only attach to the body and pinch seem. It's when you attach to the frame that it sucks. You have to detach 6 frame to body bolts and they SUCK getting out. If these steps do not attach to the frame (which I don't believe they do) it will be easy to do. As far as I know ACE design is the only one (possibly others I don't know about) that have rock rails which attach to the frame.
I installed some a month ago and love them. They can take a full weight hit and drive off. They are the perfect height step to get in and out of, even better than factory side steps. We have a 2.5" lift and it's great. Would imagine it's perfect for stock height as well.
Sponsored

jeepixel

First Name
Al
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
WBGO View, 2019 2d Wrangler Rubicon
Stock rails and side steps come off in about 10 mins if that. Both only attach to the body and pinch seem. It's when you attach to the frame that it sucks. You have to detach 6 frame to body bolts and they SUCK getting out. If these steps do not attach to the frame (which I don't believe they do) it will be easy to do. As far as I know ACE design is the only one (possibly others I don't know about) that have rock rails which attach to the frame.