Sponsored

Modified Rusty's Tire Carrier

VA72mlibu

First Name
Eric
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 Mojito! JLR; 1972 Chevy Malibu; DHC-7 & BeechCraft King-Air (operated, not owned)
Has anyone cut off the portion of the Rusty's carrier that requires tailgate drilling? I'm considering buying/modding it but wanted to see if anyone else had done it before committing. Thanks!
Sponsored

NPE102414

First Name
Peter
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 JLUR
Just cut it and touch it up, not much to think about if that’s all that’s holding you up. I’m doing the same thing because I see absolutely no need for it to be there except for a CB antenna. I’ve installed several of these types of carriers and I can’t see how it does anything to increase structural rigidity, I could be wrong because I’m not an engineer, but I don’t see it!!

OP
OP
VA72mlibu

VA72mlibu

First Name
Eric
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 Mojito! JLR; 1972 Chevy Malibu; DHC-7 & BeechCraft King-Air (operated, not owned)
Yeah I bought the carrier and intend to cut off the extra “tab”. Will post pics when installed.

Sting_NC_USA

First Name
Michael
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Jeep Wrangler JL Unlimited Rubicon
Build Thread
Link
Vehicle Showcase
I remember seeing that piece on Rusty's site and wondered the same. He has a graphic posted that says that section's purpose is for "Full tailgate coverage to prevent handle deflection." Taking that quote literally, it seems like that piece may keep the sheet metal on the tailgate straight so the tailgate doesn't flex when opening it? That's a total guess, of course.

jl-tire-carrier-hilight-tags-wb.jpg

Sponsored

NPE102414

First Name
Peter
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 JLUR