2018 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon
Occupation
Finance
Vehicle Showcase
F23AFD4B-DAD4-4002-8D87-17A89B9FD0CD.jpeg
AD883F3D-6E84-44AB-B4E0-5C260D2D7F50.jpeg
B9F30C34-B604-4D3E-AA0E-CC11CC6C2D3F.jpeg
15723881-34A3-4A85-BEBB-4CD3935B11E6.jpeg

My St. Patrick’s Day was spent installing these bad boys onto the big bad boy.

Took a lot longer than I’m willing to admit. Turns out the right tools make all the difference in the world. Lay off me, I usually build computers.

It was damn fun though. I recorded a lot of the process with my GoPro. I’ll upload that footage to YouTube after it’s been compiled. It’s supposed to be an instructional video, but it’s possible some may consider it a comedy. So long as you’re laughing with me and not at me, it’ll be fine.

There are no instructions that come with the parts. As a noob, I found that quite annoying. Thankfully there is an instructional video on their website. There are also some videos for JK installs too. Best advice I can give you is to expect the unscrewing of the body mount bolts to be the hardest part. A breaker bar makes all the difference in the world. Those damn screws are tricky bastards. Make sure you apply downward pressure once they’ve been unsecured from the body. They’ll eventually pop out. Having someone around to help with mounting the rails helps, but you can use the box and foam padding to assist if you’re alone.

Tools needed:

18mm socket with 1/2 inch drive
Breaker Bar (1/2 inch drive)
Torque wrench (same)
Beer

Install time: Nunya. Let’s say you can get it done eventually and leave it at that.

They’re very solid and really add to the rugged look of the Wrangler. They sit pretty flush with the body. I installed them with the Rubi rock sliders still installed. Gives the car a more “meaty” appearance. They’ll add 100 pounds to the weight of the vehicle, and you’ll notice it slightly when you first take the ride for a spin. Worth it though. They’re awesome.