Sponsored

JL Jeep Tops and Seats- Real World Performance from Members

scgmc

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
08 GMC 2500HD Duramax, 72 Formula 400, Yamaha WR250R, Dozens of Kayaks and Canoes, Future Jeep Wrangler JL Owner
This past Saturday I test drove eight 2020 JLU's and JL's of every model and different top variety. The only Jeep I wasn't able to drive was one with a diesel. (None were on the lot) I went into this comparison with the intention of liking and wanting to buy a JLU hardtop version. In the end, I found the hardtop on the JLU... followed by the hardtop JL... to be the noisiest two Jeeps of the bunch. Closely behind those were the soft top versions of each model with the quietest of all of them being the JLU Sky One-Touch. I couldn't believe it. Wind noise and reverberations in the hardtops (without factory headliners) were concerning. Granted, I am completely new to the Jeep world having not test driven one in 15+ years, but I was sure the hardtop would be the easy choice for me. Now, especially after reading the whole "noisy hardtop" thread, I'm unclear of my direction. Possibly the Sky One-Touch. It was pretty amazing. And yes, I realize they may have issues too. I read the "rattling quarter window" thread. The one vehicle I test drove did not rattle. I was impressed with the fit and finish and the convenience was awesome. I do think they are weird looking with the doors removed, but I don't think I will be doing that very often, if ever.