St0rmy

First Name
Patrick
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 JLUR
Hello,

Our 2019 JLUR was rear ended the other day while stopped at a light. The person who rear ended us was distracted and never slowed down. Everyone in the Jeep was fine and we were able to drive it home. I took pictures at the accident and more when I got home. I definitely had some worries prior to crawling up under it as you can tell the entire driver side had shifted down. The force of the impact showed as the body was altered around the gas cap and the gap between the hardtop and body increase as you went towards the back of the jeep. When I crawled under the jeep my worse thoughts were confirmed and the frame was compromised.

We went and received a quote for repairs and it came in around $6500 and will require 17 days of work. The lengthy time is due to a complete frame replacement. Expectedly I am bummed about this as I had been collecting parts for the build for several months now. I do not know if anyone who reads this has gone through something similar but I suppose I have a few questions. Will the frame replacement impact our warranty at all? I am not familiar with how an accident such as this will be annotated on the VIN. Will it be classified as an accident or will it annotate that it involved the frame? Obviously, this would impact the value of the jeep even after repairs so I assume that is something I should talk to the insurance about. Lastly, with such a lengthy time without the Jeep, is loss of us a thing to go after?

If anyone has any experience or information that would be helpful. Obviously I am not too familiar with the car accident process.

Thanks!

EDIT...If better placement is in the technical section please feel free to move and sorry.
Sponsored

Sean L

First Name
Sean
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 JLU, 2017 Honda Accord, 2014 Yamaha XVS 1300
Occupation
Retired Marine, Construction Estimator
Vehicle Showcase
Hello,