Jeep crashed, what should I do?

Jeeper1941

First Name
Cristian
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Jeep wrangler
Hey guys my moms just got into a car crash and was not at fault. The other person took the red light. Police checked the cameras and gave the other person a ticket. Problem is the other persons insurance only covers 10k. The other company’s adjuster came and gave us an initial quote of 8k which Is insane. He told my mom that was based on preliminary inspection and it would go up when taken to a body shop. But they won’t cover over 10k. He didn’t include the bent frame, messed up axles, suspension and who knows what else is messed up under there. I have some experience with the extent of damage a crash can have. My 2016 jeep was also hit and what looked like nothing turned into 16k of repairs including axles. I want the Jeep to be totaled and get payed to get a new one. What should we do? Do we go with our insurance and then our insurance goes after them? Should I hire a lawyer? Any advice is welcome.
thanks!
Sponsored

JLUandCJ-7

First Name
Tim
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 Sahara w/mods
Vehicle Showcase
Sounds like their insurance is not even at legal minimums.

More than likely your mom's insurance company needs to take it from here. They'll invoke the uninsured/underinsured coverage and go after the other insurance company if needed.

Jim1964

First Name
Jim
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2022 JLUR
I would notify my own insurance and let them handle it. They will collect what they can from the other driver’s insurance.

Lawyers are not worth talking to about a property damage claim, not enough $ to make it worth their time. And even if they did take you on, you do realize they charge $$$ per hour or a percentage, right? They’ll screw you more than the opposing insurance will.

AcesandEights

First Name
Aces
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2022 Jeep Rubicon 2D, with extra guacamole
Occupation