wolf

Well-Known Member
First Name
Rick
Joined
Oct 17, 2018
Messages
570
Reaction score
563
Location
florida
Vehicle(s)
On my third Rubicon(2dr's 2020, 2015 jetta diesel/2013 mb
Occupation
retired
Before you seal it for life by potting it, there’s a chance the issue is not so much the conductance of an oil soaked PCB but possibly thermal/vibration micofractures at the soldering points (bad Chinese soak solder process).

LG TV’s are famous for their crappy motherboards dropping HDMI inputs. We’ve set the toaster oven to 450 F and baked the board to bring it back to life. Might need to do the same with the locker HET sensor but potting it will all but guarantee taking that option off the table.
I like the no drain plug. You can use the fluid evacuator to get it out. That way you don't break the cover seal. That's how I would change it if I didn't have the drain plug.
I think you're misunderstanding what's happening when the sensors fail. It's not cold/cracked joints.

They're failing because the gear oil has metal flake in it which is shorting out 1 of the 3 capacitors on the board. The potting material is just keeping the gear oil from getting to the PCB.

Nothing more than that.
Has anyone done this? Have a friend in Colorado who has a business and has about 15 vehicles (trucks) does heavy maintenance all over with a lot of driving. He told me when discussing this thread that for almost 40 years he changed his differential fluid by draining about 30 percent of the fluid and adding kerosene. Then drive for a while until good and warm. Then drain immediately. Cleans everything out. These are heavy duty gas and diesel trucks 1/2 to 5 tons. Job site vehicles. He does this every time he changes oil. These differentials are upwards of 8000 dollars. He has never had any problems of any kind and yes there are some (most) 4wh dr. With electrical cylinoids etc. He is still working and doing his own maintenance.
Advertisement

 

OllieChristopher

Well-Known Member
First Name
Chris
Joined
Aug 19, 2021
Messages
484
Reaction score
587
Location
Southern CA
Vehicle(s)
2005 GMC 2WD Sierra, 4.3, NV3500, 3:73/TruTrac
I fear there's not enough failures to make a business case for the aftermarket to supply these. That would be another solution I'd love to see.
Actually there is. The aftermarket jumped on this a long time ago. Personally I would only go this route after your warranty runs out.

This part completely bypasses the failure point and has the lockers working seamlessly. Simply purchase aftermarket E-Locker or Air Locker of your choice. A very cheap and reliable upgrade to the poorly OEM designed and unavailable locker sensor.

https://www.northridge4x4.com/part/...sJKkccHh6IXyk6Yslcgo2HmMuruJczzQaAoI5EALw_wcB
 

DanW

Well-Known Member
First Name
Dan
Joined
Mar 2, 2017
Messages
7,753
Reaction score
9,894
Location
Indiana
Vehicle(s)
21 JLUR, 18JLUR, 08JKUR, 15 Renegade, 04 WJ
Vehicle Showcase
2
Actually there is. The aftermarket jumped on this a long time ago. Personally I would only go this route after your warranty runs out.

This part completely bypasses the failure point and has the lockers working seamlessly. Simply purchase aftermarket E-Locker or Air Locker of your choice. A very cheap and reliable upgrade to the poorly OEM designed and unavailable locker sensor.

https://www.northridge4x4.com/part/...sJKkccHh6IXyk6Yslcgo2HmMuruJczzQaAoI5EALw_wcB
True! But that is a bandaid or workaround rather than a full repair. And I do have one of those in my rear storage compartment, just in case. I was really referring to an aftermarket replacement for the sensor itself, for a full and proper repair. But functionally and practically, I do think that cable will do the job.
 

mgroeger

Well-Known Member
First Name
Mike
Joined
Feb 1, 2018
Messages
4,537
Reaction score
5,949
Location
Hurricane, UT
Vehicle(s)
2018 JLUR, 2020 Acura RDX A-Spec
Occupation
I make microchips for a living.
Vehicle Showcase
1

wolf

Well-Known Member
First Name
Rick
Joined
Oct 17, 2018
Messages
570
Reaction score
563
Location
florida
Vehicle(s)
On my third Rubicon(2dr's 2020, 2015 jetta diesel/2013 mb
Occupation
retired
Actually there is. The aftermarket jumped on this a long time ago. Personally I would only go this route after your warranty runs out.

This part completely bypasses the failure point and has the lockers working seamlessly. Simply purchase aftermarket E-Locker or Air Locker of your choice. A very cheap and reliable upgrade to the poorly OEM designed and unavailable locker sensor.

https://www.northridge4x4.com/part/...sJKkccHh6IXyk6Yslcgo2HmMuruJczzQaAoI5EALw_wcB
Can you use this bypass with the stock lockers and switches?
 

mgroeger

Well-Known Member
First Name
Mike
Joined
Feb 1, 2018
Messages
4,537
Reaction score
5,949
Location
Hurricane, UT
Vehicle(s)
2018 JLUR, 2020 Acura RDX A-Spec
Occupation
I make microchips for a living.
Vehicle Showcase
1
Can you use this bypass with the stock lockers and switches?
Yes, that is what it was designed for to essentially trick the stock set up.
 

DanW

Well-Known Member
First Name
Dan
Joined
Mar 2, 2017
Messages
7,753
Reaction score
9,894
Location
Indiana
Vehicle(s)
21 JLUR, 18JLUR, 08JKUR, 15 Renegade, 04 WJ
Vehicle Showcase
2
It just doesn't tell you the state of your locker. Granted, it usually isn't hard to tell but people should know they don't get any lights when using this cable.
Have you used it? I was told that it actually would still give you the indications. The problem would be if the locker gets stuck in the engaged position, it would not tell you.

But I could have been misinformed.

If you have not used it, I'd love to hear from somene who had their sensor fail and used this bypass harness.
 

GATORB8

Well-Known Member
First Name
Matt
Joined
May 30, 2021
Messages
1,802
Reaction score
2,014
Location
CLT NC
Vehicle(s)
21 JLUR 4xe
Have you used it? I was told that it actually would still give you the indications. The problem would be if the locker gets stuck in the engaged position, it would not tell you.

But I could have been misinformed.

If you have not used it, I'd love to hear from somene who had their sensor fail and used this bypass harness.
I promise you’ll know if the locker doesn’t disengage.
 

DanW

Well-Known Member
First Name
Dan
Joined
Mar 2, 2017
Messages
7,753
Reaction score
9,894
Location
Indiana
Vehicle(s)
21 JLUR, 18JLUR, 08JKUR, 15 Renegade, 04 WJ
Vehicle Showcase
2
I promise you’ll know if the locker doesn’t disengage.
Of course. But the way I understand it is that when you press the button to disengage, the light will go off and show it to be disengaged when it actually is not, when using the ZAuto harness. Whereas with a functioning sensor, it would alert you. Not sure that this is true, but it was how it was explained to me.

So yeah, your ass becomes the sensor, LOL!
 

GATORB8

Well-Known Member
First Name
Matt
Joined
May 30, 2021
Messages
1,802
Reaction score
2,014
Location
CLT NC
Vehicle(s)
21 JLUR 4xe
Of course. But the way I understand it is that when you press the button to disengage, the light will go off and show it to be disengaged when it actually is not, when using the ZAuto harness. Whereas with a functioning sensor, it would alert you. Not sure that this is true, but it was how it was explained to me.

So yeah, your ass becomes the sensor, LOL!
Yup. But let’s say it errors out. What are you gonna do differently? You may know a minute earlier, but it’s still gonna be a bitch to even steer.
 

TJJL19

Well-Known Member
First Name
TJ
Joined
May 20, 2020
Messages
320
Reaction score
269
Location
19054
Vehicle(s)
2019 Jeep Unlimited Sport
What are you talking about, you forgot to take off the racist post that I replied too!
 

Dyolfknip74

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2021
Messages
738
Reaction score
803
Location
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Vehicle(s)
2021 JLU Rubicon
Have you used it? I was told that it actually would still give you the indications. The problem would be if the locker gets stuck in the engaged position, it would not tell you.

But I could have been misinformed.

If you have not used it, I'd love to hear from somene who had their sensor fail and used this bypass harness.
I have not, just spend a lot of time here. Lol. From what I understand it doesn't tell you it's on or off.
 
Advertisement

Next Venture Motorsports
 
Advertisement
Top