Highway driving

JesperJeep

First Name
Jesper
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Jeep 2018 Sahara Unlmtd
I am new to the Wrangler family. Just purchased a 2018 Sahara Unlmtd JL with 3.5” Teraflex lift, Fox shocks, 17” Raceline wheel & 37” Cooper Discovered STT tires. Driving around town has been great, but got on the highway and once I hit 60mph, I lost a lot of confidence. Any little nuance in the road moved me side to side quite a bit. 2 hands on the wheel and ultra focus is required.

Are there any simple things I can try to help on the highway? Is a different wheel/tire combo a possible quick fix?

Just in case this helps as far as extra weight, I also have a Rugged Ridge full length steel front bumper & Smittyblit 9500 winch.

4BF8FA4B-6D82-47CD-8067-0944046307F0.jpeg
Sponsored

Mikester86

Banned
Banned
Banned
First Name
Mike
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2022 JLR
Are the front and rear track bars stock?

What tire pressure are you running? A tire with that large a foot print, will tend to grab all the imperfections in the road and pull the steering around a bit.

Was the TSB performed replacing the factory aluminum steering box with the new cast iron one?

JeepersCreepers2

First Name
Steve
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 JLU Sport S
I am new to the Wrangler family. Just purchased a 2018 Sahara Unlmtd JL with 3.5” Teraflex lift, Fox shocks, 17” Raceline wheel & 37” Cooper Discovered STT tires. Driving around town has been great, but got on the highway and once I hit 60mph, I lost a lot of confidence. Any little nuance in the road moved me side to side quite a bit. 2 hands on the wheel and ultra focus is required.

Are there any simple things I can try to help on the highway? Is a different wheel/tire combo a possible quick fix?

Just in case this helps as far as extra weight, I also have a Rugged Ridge full length steel front bumper & Smittyblit 9500 winch.

4BF8FA4B-6D82-47CD-8067-0944046307F0.jpeg