Sponsored

Guess what? You can snap a lower control arm in half and not even know it.

mgroeger

First Name
Mike
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 JLUR 2.0T, 1991 YJ rock crawler
Occupation
I make microchips for a living.
Vehicle Showcase
Was out on West Rim trail in Sand Hollow doing Toll Booth #1. I have done this obstacle multiple times without incident and this time I was doing it a tiny bit different and was crawling when I should have been a little more on the skinny pedal. All I can figure that happened is I bumped and landed on a very pointy piece of rock which punctured the arm and then the torque of trying to get up the obstacle as well as landing on the arm snapped it.
Didn't here a thing and didn't feel a thing, the only way I knew was getting out and looking to find a better line I noticed it. Since we are running Risky Biz tomorrow with a small Trail Hero event I was in a real pickle. Well it turns out an upper front JK control arm is 3/16 longer and can be used in a pickle. Here's to pickles...

Jeep Wrangler JL Guess what? You can snap a lower control arm in half and not even know it. IMG_7250
Sponsored

Roky

First Name
Roky
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 JLUR
Build Thread
Link
Vehicle Showcase
Was out on West Rim trail in Sand Hollow doing Toll Booth #1. I have done this obstacle multiple times without incident and this time I was doing it a tiny bit different and was crawling when I should have been a little more on the skinny pedal. All I can figure that happened is I bumped and landed on a very pointy piece of rock which punctured the arm and then the torque of trying to get up the obstacle as well as landing on the arm snapped it.