Sponsored

First time off road in JLU Sahara and got it stuck!!!!

mgroeger

First Name
Mike
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 JLUR 2.0T, 1991 YJ rock crawler
Occupation
I make microchips for a living.
Vehicle Showcase
So... let me set the stage...

This 2018 black on black, JLU Shara is my wife's b-day gift. I won't say what b-day (I don't want to get in trouble) but it's a significant one.
I'm allowed to drive it when she isn't (lucky me;))
We own a flower shop (this will play into the story)
The following events took place on MY WIFE'S BIRTHDAY and WE HAD TO GO SET UP A WEDDING THAT DAY.

I decided not to leave a note or tell anyone where is was going and took the Jeep out to bed in the brakes (that's another conversation on it's own). As I'm driving around I found a stone parking lot to play around in with 2H, 4H and 4L. Then I realized "Hey there are trails around here, I'll go check them out and find some fun ones to take the Mrs. on." The first one was short and cool. The second one was longer and had some tricky spots but the Jeep was kicking arse! It was muddy and some spots were pretty slick, I saw the road ahead and saw the last swampy muddy spot I needed to cross.
There really wasn't a good line to pick but I wound up picking the worst one. I was riding up on the high ground with the ruts next to me. Because it was slick I slid off this high ground into the tire ruts and bam... bellyed it on the mud between the tracks. I could hear the axles spinning in the mud, I left it in 4L, got out and could see all 4 tires spinning freely. Lovely, need to be home in 45 mins to go do that wedding and I'm muddy, there is NO WAY to get out on my own, my wife's new Jeep is muddy inside and out, I'm screwed.
SO, I called my daughter and son-in-law who live 50 mins away to bring their lifted JKU to tow me out while we were doing this wedding. Then I started to walk home as I waited for my other daughter to come pick me up.

Needless to say the Mrs. was NOT happy.