Exact Center Stabilizer

Jeep&dogs

First Name
Jim
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 JLUr
So I want to start with in the 35+ years I have been playing with modified cars,trucks,and Jeeps,I have probably made 3-4 reviews on things. A little bit of background on myself, I have been doing high end collision and restoration work for 30+ years. I have been building high end drag cars on the side for 15-20 years.

I have built a few 4000+ HP outlaw drag cars, countless street cars, and quite a few Jeeps over the years. My current JLUR has had a shimmy in the steering since I did the lift well over a year ago and 15,000 miles ago. I have had several posts on here over the last year on things I have done to try to fix it. I have probably spent 10k chasing it.

I have replaced the following trying to correct it.
Springs x2
Shocks x3
Ball joints x3
Steering knuckles
Hub bearings
Wheels and tires x3
Steering tie rods x2
Track bars x2
Steering gear box x3
Track bar braces x2
Steering stabilizer x3

Not to mention changing alignment specs a million times

I did the new stabilizer last night and took it for a quick ride, I was somewhat happy with it. Today I made a few more adjustments on it and I actually ended up driving it about 130 miles today. After getting it out on the highway and the typical roads that I know would duplicate the shimmy I had I can say this is the best it has driven since I have lifted it.

There was probably a 25-30 mph crosswind on one of the 4 lane open roads out here. Itā€™s pretty much all open corn fields so it really has nothing to block the road from the wind. At 70 I could take my hands off the wheel and the Jeep would stay in its lane for as long as I wanted. I shot a video but I need to figure out how to post it. šŸ˜Ž