Mike
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 JLUR 2.0T, 1991 YJ rock crawler
Occupation
I make microchips for a living.
Vehicle Showcase
We just bought a Wrangler JLU Sahara for my wife's b-day. This is the first Wrangler we have owned and we are both in love with it. There were 34 miles on it when we bought it 2 days ago and now there are 172. Obviously we are in the break in period for the engine and obviously I am a dumba$$. I love muscle cars and Jeeps and anything with horsepower.
While test driving this Jeep I dropped the hammer on the pedal and was surprised and how this engine moves 4,400 lbs so easily and quickly. And that is my weakness, I love to drop the hammer. So now I am freaking out because I forgot "Hey idiot, you are in the break in phase!!!!". In the last 135 miles or so I have dropped the hammer about 10 times (yes I actually tried to remember exactly how many). Then I went on the web and looked up the best way to break in an engine...
1. DON'T DROP THE HAMMER
2. DON'T GO ABOVE 4,000 RPMS
3. Vary your speed and loads
4. No cruise control
5. Don't tow

So I've broken the first two rules about 10 - 12 times in 135 miles. Break in periods typically are anywhere from 300 to 1000 miles. Obviously I won't be dropping the hammer anymore and I will obey the break in laws. Anyone have any opinions on any damage (hot spots, wearing the rings too fast, etc...) I might have done? We plan on keeping this Jeep a LONG time and I now that now is the time to get it right.

I also plan on using the same Penzoil Platinum 0w - 20 that it shipped from the factory with and Mopar filters for my oil changes. I most likely will go less than the 7,500 miles between changes and also plan on doing a change around 750 miles to flush out any break in particulate.
Sponsored

DanW

First Name
Dan
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
21 JLUR, 18JLUR, 08JKUR, 15 Renegade, 04 WJ
Vehicle Showcase