Sponsored

Driving Wrangler? How about the balance of compromises.

TPS

First Name
Tom
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Sahara Unlimited JL 2021
Hi
I am a newbie here, writing from Poland. I just ordered Sahara 2021 and am waiting to pick her around Easter. It will be my 4th car in the family, so I can't treat her as the DD. The main purpose of buying Wrangler is to travel with my family to the places I would not like to visit with my comfy station wagon. I am a petrolhead, and I love cars, so any overloading, abusing and long trips with my less considerate family members drive me a bit crazy. As they are never going to read this forum, I have the freedom to say I love driving alone.
My last trip with two teens and my SO ended almost with divorce. We took 4 bikes and mounted them on the hitch rack, and we barely arrived at the destination since the rack got broken and dragged the bikes on the pavement. As I investigated, such a malfunction is pretty common.

That day I decided to buy a rugged car for family trips and city cruising; that is why Sahara is on its way to my garage.

You know the drill - the d-day is coming, and I got my head full of different thoughts about possible upgrades. So...
... the first thing I am going to mount is the Rhino rack to carry 4 bikes. But I want to give my Sahara a bit of an aggressive look. The more I read forums, the more I understand all compromises.
  1. Tires - Sahara comes with 255/70/R18 Duelers H/T. As I noticed, the first thing many drivers do is change tires with AT, which looks fine, but the game might not be worth the candle for me. I want to put 33" tires (275/70R18 BFGoodrich All-Terrain T/A KO2 seem fine), but buying such tires to stick to the black pavement in 99% might be overkill. 50% of the year in Poland is wet, so I am confused if it is a good idea. I drive a V8 GT and OPC station wagon with great brakes, so driving Wrangler with A/T tires on wet might be tricky for my routine.