Downshift with 4.88 gears on 35s

Joe_S

First Name
Joe
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Wrangler JLU Sport S
I recently had my JLU sport automatic re-geared so I can run 35s. It's a daily driver, but the shop recommended 4.88 so I can still handle deep mud ruts and steep inclines on trails.

They warned me that the downshift when coming to a stop would be more noticeable, and that it's normal on a JL. The owner said every JL he's re-geared does this. Changing the gear ratio and tire size does nothing to help.

Does anyone have the same issue? I'm trying to get used to it, but it is a little annoying. If I'm not more aggressive when I'm breaking you can feel a slight kick if I ease up at all on the break pedal. They said there's no fix for it yet. Does anyone know if there's a way to correct this?

Another shop said if I went with 4.56, I probably wouldn't have this issue. Are they right?
Sponsored

IceBerg

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 XR 392
I'm not a expert so please correct me if I am wrong but I think the 8 speed transmission can also be reprogrammed to shift differently.

How to do it or how much it would cost I am not sure but I have seen a few youtubers talking about altering shift points.

Sorry, I know that's not much help.

ML7

First Name
Mike
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 Wrangler JL Rubicon
Vehicle Showcase
I have 4.88's and 37's and an auto and get no clicking, I also have a Tazer and changed the tire size and gear ratio using that, if they didnt do either of those that is the issue with the clicking - I drove mine for a week without the tazer and no noises just annoying shift points that made me drive like a chauffeur to prevent weird shifts.

OP
OP
Joe_S

Joe_S

First Name
Joe
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)