Reconatrek

First Name
Mamba
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 Rubicon Recon
Hi Team -

Lifetime Jeep owner, Wrangler newbie here. I picked up my ‘20 Rubicon Recon a couple weeks ago and am completely in love. I am going through the painstaking task of spending countless hours looking at various wheel/tire/lift combinations to figure out precisely the look that strikes my cord and still meets my driving preferences as an every day driver which will probably see off-road every 4-6 weeks, camping and fishing trails predominantly. I have a 2 year old with one on the way.

I keep reading that 35”s are about as big as I would want to go before I fall out of daily driver territory, but it also sounds like the stock Rubi drivetrain could ‘handle’ 37”s, and although it would probably sweat a bit (slight hit to MPG, acceleration and braking), I could get away without any other suspension work.

At this point, I am leaning towards the 2” Mopar Lift and 37s (tires and wheels TBD). I like the aggressive stance with fuller wheel well with this combo.

A few questions, and keep in mind the Recon has the I4 Turbo with eTorque with 4:10s:

Should I foresee any rubbing issues in moderate trail running / light crawling (say 50-75% articulation) with this setup? Are there any other modifications I would want to consider as a preventative to any bumping/rubbing? Mopar lift comes with longer control arms and bump stops, Recon comes with Mopar Rock-rails.

Is there a wheel/tire combo WEIGHT threshold before these Dana 44s get unhappy?

General thoughts on road manners with a 2” lift on 37s? Obviously stock ride quality is out, but if stock is 10 and Colosus at Disneyland is a 0, where would you put the ride quality? (Given that other variables like wheel size and tire type will vary)

Does a 37”, 13.5” in tire fit on the JLUR? Backspace?

Here are a few 33”, 35”, and 37” comparison pics on the Mopar 2” lift

Jeep Wrangler JL Decision Time FBE1B1D5-567E-49D9-BFC1-B37698B37B0C