Death Wobble - Clayton Lift

545moose

First Name
Jon
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
GX460
What is your tire pressure? Death Wobble is often mistaken when it is another issue. Over inflated tires are one such issue where people think it is DW.

Also the Clayton Lift is good for both on and off road use. So that is not going to be the issue. Installation may be the issue however. You said it had a new lift installed when you bought it? Who installed it? Also did they check all the bolts/nuts and ensure everything is torque'd to spec at the off-road shop?
I'm no expert here but there's a lot of good info. Where are the torque values found, or can you find an electronic FSM? Also I've seen a few threads where the AEV steering damper fixed a DW, just another thing to check. Definitely having extra hands to have a helper turn the wheel and get underneath and give it a full look and see what you find. Also keep looking for a shop that's good to YOU. I went through a number with my old GX and cut out a lot of lazy places that either wouldn't or didn't want to work much cause it was lift, modified, rainy, a Thursday, etc. Lots of excuses and hard to find a good solid shop period.
Sponsored

roaniecowpony

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 JLUR, 14 GMC 1500 CC All TERRAIN
Occupation
Retired Engineer
Shimmy or DW happens when the steering/suspension system natural (ocillation) frequencies of the masses involved, (mainly the rotating tire/wheel/brake/hub) and the opposing mass, (mainly the axle assembly) come together and then are excited by a road bump or such.

Things that change the natural frequency of these two major masses are stiffness of the suspension/steering, the weight of each of these two major masses, and the rotating speed of the tire/wheel/brake assy. That's why rigs with large heavy tires are more susceptable to shimmy/DW and why it happens at or above certain speeds.