Dealership vs Owner...loose steering issue

Paul Hess

First Name
Paul
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 jeep Sahara
Yes, I've read the Star Case and did notice the notation to dealerships to NOT adjust the steering box. However other members have had luck with dealers doing the adjustment with positive results as well as Jeep Informent doing the same with positive results. I just don't seem to understand why it can't be completed. I'm no mechanic by any means, but if this is giving a tighter response to steering, what negative effects is it doing? If the bigger picture isn't a mechanical issue but more of a cost issue for FCA without being a critical safety issue, that's sad. I have had multiple Wranglers, both stock and custom, and this "play" in the steering without response from the tires isn't normal. And for the dealership to charge me for diagnostic tests because they couldn't find anything "wrong" with their tests is also a mistreatment to customers loyal to the Jeep brand.
My story. Hope it helps.