Cut/trim KC Hilites wiring harness when using built-in Aux switches?

baz

Well-Known Member
First Name
Baz
Joined
May 1, 2019
Messages
96
Reaction score
45
Location
Montreal, Canada
Vehicle(s)
Rubicon Unlimited 2019
The wiring harness that comes with KC Hilites (A-pillar Apollos in my case) is massive and bulky. Since I have the built-in auxiliary switches most of it is unused. Does anyone know if it's possible to cut parts of it off for a more direct and slim install when using aux switches?
Advertisement

 

NickTinVA

Well-Known Member
First Name
Nick
Joined
Jan 11, 2019
Messages
157
Reaction score
99
Location
Leesburg, Virginia
Vehicle(s)
2019 Jeep Rubicon
The wiring harness that comes with KC Hilites (A-pillar Apollos in my case) is massive and bulky. Since I have the built-in auxiliary switches most of it is unused. Does anyone know if it's possible to cut parts of it off for a more direct and slim install when using aux switches?
Yep! That's what I did. Super easy. You don't need any of the switch assembly or wire run.
 
  • Like
Reactions: baz
OP
OP
baz

baz

Well-Known Member
First Name
Baz
Joined
May 1, 2019
Messages
96
Reaction score
45
Location
Montreal, Canada
Vehicle(s)
Rubicon Unlimited 2019
Great to hear! Would you mind sharing a pic of what you did if you get the chance? I assume you still have the relay cap piece?
 
Last edited:
OP
OP
baz

baz

Well-Known Member
First Name
Baz
Joined
May 1, 2019
Messages
96
Reaction score
45
Location
Montreal, Canada
Vehicle(s)
Rubicon Unlimited 2019
I did it and it was an easy job! Thanks for the boost of confidence @NickTinVA. For anyone else curious, here are the instructions:

IMG_20190805_182231.jpg
IMG_20190805_182554.jpg
IMG_20190805_182726.jpg
IMG_20190805_183339.jpg
IMG_20190805_183348.jpg
 

NickTinVA

Well-Known Member
First Name
Nick
Joined
Jan 11, 2019
Messages
157
Reaction score
99
Location
Leesburg, Virginia
Vehicle(s)
2019 Jeep Rubicon
I did it and it was an easy job! Thanks for the boost of confidence @NickTinVA. For anyone else curious, here are the instructions:

IMG_20190805_182231.jpg
IMG_20190805_182554.jpg
IMG_20190805_182726.jpg
IMG_20190805_183339.jpg
IMG_20190805_183348.jpg
Nice job! I apologize, I missed your request for pictures, but you nailed it.
 
  • Like
Reactions: baz

NickTinVA

Well-Known Member
First Name
Nick
Joined
Jan 11, 2019
Messages
157
Reaction score
99
Location
Leesburg, Virginia
Vehicle(s)
2019 Jeep Rubicon
I did it and it was an easy job! Thanks for the boost of confidence @NickTinVA. For anyone else curious, here are the instructions:


IMG_20190805_182231.jpg
IMG_20190805_182554.jpg
IMG_20190805_182726.jpg
IMG_20190805_183339.jpg
IMG_20190805_183348.jpg
Here's mine. Since the relays are fuse protected you can cut even more away if you want to. All you need are the positive and negative leads direct from the lights after the Y splice.

15651262614234218167580280013715.jpg
 
  • Like
Reactions: baz
OP
OP
baz

baz

Well-Known Member
First Name
Baz
Joined
May 1, 2019
Messages
96
Reaction score
45
Location
Montreal, Canada
Vehicle(s)
Rubicon Unlimited 2019
Do you still have the relay cap in there?

IMG_20190807_180135__01.jpg


If not how do you get the switch wire to do the switching?
 

robaw

Well-Known Member
First Name
Rob
Joined
Oct 26, 2018
Messages
1,611
Reaction score
2,094
Location
Iowa
Vehicle(s)
2019 JLU MOAB (MOJITO!), 2009 Honda CBR600RR
Do you still have the relay cap in there?

IMG_20190807_180135__01.jpg


If not how do you get the switch wire to do the switching?
You can just wire the red wires from the lights to the aux switch wire and the black wires from the lights to ground if desired. The aux wire already has a dedicated relay and fuse so leaving the inline fuse and relay from the harness is overkill. I will admit I left the relay and fuse intact, but I know I didn't have to.
 
OP
OP
baz

baz

Well-Known Member
First Name
Baz
Joined
May 1, 2019
Messages
96
Reaction score
45
Location
Montreal, Canada
Vehicle(s)
Rubicon Unlimited 2019
You can just wire the red wires from the lights to the aux switch wire and the black wires from the lights to ground if desired. The aux wire already has a dedicated relay and fuse so leaving the inline fuse and relay from the harness is overkill. I will admit I left the relay and fuse intact, but I know I didn't have to.
It works! Excellent. I got confused a bit because when you use the harness it still requires a direct connection to the battery, so the switch portion, I don't think, is supplying power in that case, just connecting the other power wires.

I did decide to leave the fuse that's already attached to the KC wire because I'm pretty sure the amps aren't exact. Is that a good idea?
 

robaw

Well-Known Member
First Name
Rob
Joined
Oct 26, 2018
Messages
1,611
Reaction score
2,094
Location
Iowa
Vehicle(s)
2019 JLU MOAB (MOJITO!), 2009 Honda CBR600RR
It works! Excellent. I got confused a bit because when you use the harness it still requires a direct connection to the battery, so the switch portion, I don't think, is supplying power in that case, just connecting the other power wires.

I did decide to leave the fuse that's already attached to the KC wire because I'm pretty sure the amps aren't exact. Is that a good idea?
Aux switches 1&2 are rated 40 amps each. The relay with the KC wiring harness is 2x20 amps, so basically the same. Some could contend that there could be a scenario where one wire could pull enough power to not blow a fuse but still melt a wire (and possibly start a fire) but I seriously doubt that would ever happen. IMHO either way of wiring them is perfectly acceptable (I have plenty of education/experience in low-voltage wiring and electronics).
 
  • Like
Reactions: baz
OP
OP
baz

baz

Well-Known Member
First Name
Baz
Joined
May 1, 2019
Messages
96
Reaction score
45
Location
Montreal, Canada
Vehicle(s)
Rubicon Unlimited 2019

NickTinVA

Well-Known Member
First Name
Nick
Joined
Jan 11, 2019
Messages
157
Reaction score
99
Location
Leesburg, Virginia
Vehicle(s)
2019 Jeep Rubicon
  • Like
Reactions: baz

S2k Chris

Well-Known Member
First Name
Chris
Joined
Aug 1, 2018
Messages
479
Reaction score
909
Location
Arlington Heights, IL
Vehicle(s)
AP1 S2000, Rubicon 4xe
Occupation
Finance
I did it and it was an easy job! Thanks for the boost of confidence @NickTinVA. For anyone else curious, here are the instructions:

Did this exact thing yesterday. Wired to Aux 4. chopped the black wire off after the relay, left about 8" of the green wire, spliced/soldered/shrunk wrapped to the blue/pink Aux 4 wire.

FWIW, I used the bolt holding the plastic battery thingy to hold the relay in place, it's down in the little area where the Aux wiring sits.

Now I just need the Mopar bumper brackets to be delivered and I can install the lights themselves; I just have the wiring all tucked next to the battery until the brackets come in.
 

S2k Chris

Well-Known Member
First Name
Chris
Joined
Aug 1, 2018
Messages
479
Reaction score
909
Location
Arlington Heights, IL
Vehicle(s)
AP1 S2000, Rubicon 4xe
Occupation
Finance
You don't even need the relay thing, you can chop more.
I'm not a smart man when it comes to electronics, I got it to work using the relay and only chopping off a little bit of the wiring, and I called it a win :)
 
Advertisement

Northridge4x4
 
Advertisement
Top