Sponsored

compact travel tool set

txj2go

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
CTS-V, 2018 JLU Sport Firecracker Red
I decided to create a compact tool set for travel since I go to remote places. I needed compact since space is at a premium whether I'm alone or with another person and I need space for clothes, food and camping gear. I wanted to pack the tools into a relatively flat package so they could fit in the rear compartment or maybe under the folded down back seat. I can't pack everything in my garage but I wanted enough variety of tools for most repairs. My father has owned a garage for over 60 years and I worked there in high school and college so I have lots of experience with tools. Back then we did a lot more with SAE than metric so I don't know what metric sizes are needed and which ones aren't.

I bought a small Craftsman set on sale after Thanksgiving, a set or torx "sockets" on Amazon, and a cheap zipper bag on ebay. I had previously bought a set of metric wrenches from Harbor Freight. I dug through my crap and got out an old shoulder bag for the larger tools. I bought some cheap plastic socket rails on ebay. Besides the tools I just bought, I dug out extra pliers, screwdrivers, hammer, etc. from my home tools. Not shown in the photos is a long 1/2" breaker bar and 22mm deep socket that I already carry for lug nuts. I also have jumper cables, tow straps, Lithium Ion jumper pack and small 4 ton bottle jack. (My JLU is running on only one battery so the jump pack will work on it.)

Today I pulled out all of the tools that I intended to carry, mostly metric. I cut down the socket rails so they would fit in my zipper bag. With everything packaged it fits into a space 15" x 18" x 3" high. I don't know yet if under the rear seats or in the rear compartment is the best place, I'll figure that out the next time I pack for a long trip.

Jeep Wrangler JL compact travel tool set IMG_4673c

Jeep Wrangler JL compact travel tool set IMG_4675c