CA Overlanding / Legal Camp

cripton805

First Name
Vic
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 JLU Sport w/ 6sp
I would like to get more into Overlanding.

Specifically in CA.

Are there any good apps you guys recommend or anyway that I could look up legal camping? Along with cooking, legal trails, levels, etc. I want to make sure I'm not breaking the law or permits I might need. I'm a complete newb.

TIA
Sponsored

bjm00se

First Name
Steve
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
JLUR 6sp ordered 11/3/21, picked up 8/30/22
Most of the public lands in California are National Forests. What you really want are the paper maps for the National Forests lands you'll be visiting. Once you're in the forest, nearly all the areas are open to dispersed camping. You always need a "fire permit" if you're going to light any fires, which includes stoves, charcoal, and campfires; and basically you're agreeing to know and follow the rules.

You have to get a new fire permit every year; they're free. Easiest way to get them is any Forest Service ranger station; you can also get them at CalFire stations I think, though I've never done that, and I think they're now possible to get online as well.

There are lots of "informal campgrounds" that count as "dispersed camping" In general, "tread lightly" and "leave no trace" principles tell us that it's better to pick a spot that's already been tamped down for camping and has an existing fire ring, rather than break ground on a new campsite. Or if you do camp in a completely virgin spot, leave it unrecognizable and as you found it, so that other folks don't camp there and it doesn't start become a new informal camsite.

Don't camp within 200 feet of a water source. (Source "Leave No Trace" - other sources say different distances, but in general nobody should be camping close than 100 feet from a water source.)