Sponsored

Best side step to take a hit and do some sliding.

mgroeger

First Name
Mike
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 JLUR 2.0T, 1991 YJ rock crawler
Occupation
I make microchips for a living.
Vehicle Showcase
There seem to a be a bunch of threads out there similar to this but I'm looking for a specific answer that no one seems to have.
We have a 2" lift and my wife wants to ditch the stock plastic Mopar running boards that come on the Sahara. We off road and rock climb with it so logic dictates a rock rail that can slide, like what comes stock on a Rubi, would be best. BUT, they suck for getting in and out especially for my wife who is around 5' 7". I know there is a rail/step combo out there where you can unbolt the two steps on each side and be left with a pure rock rail. Problem is they allow stones and what not fly up and chip the hinges, etc... just like the Rubi ones do.
So the quest is to find a step that also can take a hit and even slide if necessary. ROAM has what appears to be a solution but I don't want to bias this thread.
Please don't just reply and say "These look cool", that does not help at all. What would help is details on how the step mounts, is it solid enough to do what we are looking for, personal experience with the step, etc... Thanks!
Sponsored

BWWJL

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
18 JLU Sport S
Vehicle Showcase

patternman

First Name
George
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 JLUS, 2014 & 2001 Indian

Sponsored

OP
OP
mgroeger

mgroeger

First Name
Mike
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Occupation
Vehicle Showcase
Thanks for the info guys. The ROAM ones are the only ones that fit the budget right now. I've actually got a message out to the guy on another thread asking him to measure the height from the bottom of the ROAM so I can see if they are higher than the stock rails.
I would love to get the retractable ones but that's way too much $.

ChrispyJL

First Name
chris
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)