First Name
Dan
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Toyota Tundra
Hey guys,
I'm a newbie.
I'm looking for the best Jeep for rock crawling the most difficult trails in Moab.
I know I will need to do a lot of modifications no matter what I get, but I want to know which Jeep is best to start with.
Also, please list the most important modifications I will need to do for these kind of trails.

Much appreciated.

Dan Castro
Durango, Colorado
Sponsored

Zandcwhite

First Name
Zach
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 jlur
Assuming you're talking JL, I'd start with a Rubicon. Add a quality lift from metalcloak, rock krawler, or Clayton in the 3-3.5" range. Add armor including full skids and heavier rocksliders. 37-40" tires and you're good to go. Ours only has 2.5" lift and 37's but we had a blast in moab.

20200828_112725.jpg

Clayton Off Road

Summit Sponsor (Level 3)
First Name
James
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 JLUR
Assuming you're talking JL, I'd start with a Rubicon. Add a quality lift from metalcloak, rock krawler, or Clayton in the 3-3.5" range. Add armor including full skids and heavier rocksliders. 37-40" tires and you're good to go. Ours only has 2.5" lift and 37's but we had a blast in moab.

Jeep Wrangler JL Best Jeep For Crawling Rocks At Moab? 20200828_112725
Awesome photo!

40”JLURD

First Name
Ross
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 JL Unlimited Rubicon Diesel
Occupation
Bad Mother Fucker

20200828_112725.jpg
A major thing to consider is number of doors.

If building a rock crawler is truly your main goal with this Jeep I strongly suggest a 2 door.

A 2 door with 37” tires will go just about everywhere you’ll want to go.

To get the same break over angle on a 4 door you will need 40” tires - which means swapping to 1 ton axles. (This will cost you at least $25k above and beyond the 37” tire build minimum to do it correctly with 1 ton axles)

So a 2 door Rubicon will be drastically cheaper to build than a 4 door would be