Battery Disconnect for Winch?

Tynewlon

First Name
Tyler 🚺
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 JLU 2.0 4Cyl
I got around to installing my winch today but the wiring makes me nervous. I’m overly cautious and the idea of an accidental electrical fire doesn’t sit well with me. I’m thinking about doing a battery shut off switch but I have no idea how. I’m NOT good with wiring but I can figure out most stuff.

Anyone have recommendations on a setup for this or have pictures? Any advice is greatly appreciated.
Sponsored

OP
OP
Tynewlon

Tynewlon

First Name
Tyler 🚺
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 JLU 2.0 4Cyl

ConqSoft

First Name
Keith
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 JL 2 Door Rubicon 6 Speed
Occupation
Systems Analyst
Vehicle Showcase
I’ve seen that but I don’t have aux switches and I’d prefer not to run it to the dash if I don’t have to. Ideally I’d love to just lift the hood and flip a switch when needed.
Can still use that and just mount the switch under the hood couldn’t you?

OP
OP
Tynewlon

Tynewlon

First Name
Tyler 🚺
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 JLU 2.0 4Cyl
Can still use that and just mount the switch under the hood couldn’t you?
I honestly have no idea. I’ve never done anything like this so my knowledge is extremely limited.

Sponsored

AcesandEights

First Name
Aces
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2022 Jeep Rubicon 2D, with extra guacamole
Occupation
I'm often occupied, by many things, often at the same time
What did the wiring instructions for the winch show, and why not do that? An additional switch creates another point of failure and ultimately you have the battery wired to the switch, the winch, whatever and the risk becomes less, or more?

ConqSoft

First Name
Keith
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 JL 2 Door Rubicon 6 Speed
Occupation
Systems Analyst
Vehicle Showcase
OP
OP
Tynewlon

Tynewlon

First Name
Tyler 🚺
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 JLU 2.0 4Cyl