Vehicle(s)
2018 JLUR

Punkindave

First Name
David
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 JLUR 2.0 Turbo Bluebicon, 2020 JLUR 2.0 Turbo (Wife's)
Occupation
ITS Project Manager
This might answer some questions for you..
I'm no expert but I've seen "service dogs" that are obviously just pets presented as "service animals" so the owners can travel with them for whatever reason. I've seen them freak out, and crap in terminal areas. Obviously not trained..
It's a disservice to those that legitimately require real service animals.
https://www.certapet.com/fake-service-dog-registration/

UKCATS

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 JLUR Recon/2020 Mazda3 Hatchback
Occupation
I play piano in a whorehouse
Count me in on the pile on. If not a legitimate need, it’s bullshit. True service dogs are trained from puppies to fill specific needs.

OldGuyNewJeep

First Name
Don
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Wrangler JL, 2016 Yukon XL
Count me in on the pile on. If not a legitimate need, it’s bullshit. True service dogs are trained from puppies to fill specific needs.
100% this. I have relatives who foster trainees (puppies) on weekends. Mon-Fri these dogs train for various specialties. They don’t all make it, as not every dog is cut out for work. (Wait list for a “reject” is miles long... they make awesome, well trained and obedient pets.)

My point is that training a real service dog is EXPENSIVE and time consuming. It’s done by professionals who start when the dogs are puppies. Any place that claims they can train your pet to be a service dog is BS.

Here is a real non-profit training center for service dogs: https://www.ecad1.org/

Here’s a story about my uncle-in-law and his service dog, Tuesday: https://www.courant.com/community/99770572-132.html

Tuesday is semi-famous: https://www.amazon.com/Until-Tuesday-Wounded-Warrior-Retriever/dp/1455853577