Alternator upgrade for winches?

Mendacity

First Name
Jim
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 Wrangler Sport
Has anyone bothered to upgrade their alternators or the big 3 wiring to help minimize beating up their battery? I was checking out Js alternators and was thinking of upgrading to a 390amp alternator. That would handle anything you threw at it and me being an electrician I just feel like more power is just better?
I dont plan on ever going rock crawling but the winch I put on our 2020 JL is 10,000lb rated and at max ampacity draw it pulls 365 amps which is kind of insane to pull on a battery.
Sponsored

gato

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 JLUR
Not needed. You can add a bit of gas when you winch or user a Tazer that has a winch mode which keeps the engine idle at 2,000RPM (programmable) while winching. Even that is overkill. Most winching is short duration and can be done even with the engine off.

Reinen

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 Jeep Wrangler JL Rubicon
Do you have the tow package? That includes a beefed up alternator.
You're still going to pull mostly from the battery anyway regardless of your alternator. Unless you're using the winch multiple times every week, this isn't something to worry about.

Whiskey 13

First Name
Steve
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 Jeep JLU Black Rubicon, LOD Signature Mid Width Bumper, Smittybilt Gen 3 12000 Lb. Winch Syn. Rope, Teraflex 1.5" Leveling Kit, Weather Tech Form Fit Mats, ROAM MK 3 Frame Mounted Rock Rails
Should not be needed if you keep engine running and RPM above idle. If you are working the winch hard stop frequently to prevent winch from overheating and allowing the battery to recover. Pay attention to how hot the winch cables are getting.

OP
OP

Mendacity

First Name
Jim
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 Wrangler Sport
Do you have the tow package? That includes a beefed up alternator.