Aftermarket subwoofer??

La Sancha

First Name
Jeremy
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 JLU Rubicon
My rubicon did not come with a factory subwoofer. With that said I would really like to install
https://www.alpine-usa.com/index.php/product/view/pwe-s8/

Does anyone know if this can be installed in the JLU? Quadratec says no but Crutchfield says shouldn't be a problem.

Any advice or help would be appreciated.

This is my first post so I hope did this right!!

Thanks

Jeremy
Sponsored

STLYoungblood

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Wrangler JLU Sport S Ocean Blue
Vehicle Showcase
I think that particular sub is designed to go under a seat of your choosing, so mounting shouldn't be a problem. The question is more about connection to the UConnect and power draw. If Crutchfield says no problem, I'd probably trust that. It isn't beefy enough to likely require it's own amp. I'm no pro though, so if someone knows better, please clarify.

Sting_NC_USA

First Name
Michael
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Jeep Wrangler JL Unlimited Rubicon
Build Thread
Link
Vehicle Showcase
It'll work! You'll need to run power to it, along with a remote wire (cigarette lighter wire). Ground it behind the lower left kick panel.

Tap the inputs into your rear speakers at the base of the pillar behind the passenger seat. Twisted pair wires are easy to locate.

See the "adding an aftermarket amp(s)" post for wire color coding.

Good luck!

crazychile

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2017 Wrangler JK, 2018 Wrangler JLU
Just a word of caution, on another forum, there were people that used that Alpine sub in JKs, (or a similar Alpine sub) and it sounded fine, but the mounting brackets were prone to breaking.

Sponsored

crazychile

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2017 Wrangler JK, 2018 Wrangler JLU
Is it possible to purchase and install a factory JLU Alpine sub?

@crazychile good to see a fellow SBAFer on here too, when's your JL delivery date?