Advanced Safety Package

PGFDE121

First Name
Ron
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2006 FX-35
Does anyone have any experience with the advanced safety package? Specifically whether it has stopped you from rear ending someone? I'm a fairly attentive driver and never had an accident, but would not mind paying extra for the package for additional piece of mind. However, after seeing some videos online, it does not appear that the system is very reliable. From what I saw, after sensing an obstacle (or not sensing the obstacle) it only brought the vehicle to a stop about 20% of the time. I know the package also comes with smart cruise control which would be somewhat useful to me. Any thoughts or input?
Sponsored

ormandj

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2024 JLUR X 4xe
I haven't tested emergency braking as I'm an attentive driver as well and haven't had any missteps so far, but the adaptive cruise control works quite well, and the alerts (I have sensitivity set to medium) seem to indicate it would very likely avoid many accidents if I wasn't paying attention. I'm sure it all depends on speeds, if you're doing 60mph and there's a stopped vehicle, it may or may not work, but with a 10 or 20 mph differential I suspect it would more often than not. I haven't nor do I plan to test this theory so YMMV. Set it to high sensitivity and pay attention and you'd probably be in good shape. I wouldn't buy it for that reason though; I bought it purely for ACC, and I wouldn't be without it.

rommel102

Threads
Reaction score
Website
www.youtube.com
Vehicle(s)
2019 Ocean Blue Sahara 2.0 JLU FINALLY HERE!
I haven't driven enough to know how reliable it is...then again I don't regularly get myself into situations that I would need to rely on the auto-braking feature.