About to buy a jl

Ausreed93

First Name
Austin
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Soon to own jl
Going to get a jeep this week. First one ever so forgive me I'm kind of new to this but I have a couple of questions.

From my understanding the Rubicon and unlimited are different heights and the Rubicon comes with 4.10 gears and I read somewhere beefier axles.

My main goal is to run 37s. This will be my daily driver (about 20k miles a year) and i don't do much offloading, just go to the beach every weekend and may hit some soft sand. Ultimately just want it for looks. So I'll be adding a lift kit. With either model would I achieve the same ride height or would the Rubicon be taller because it started taller? Also are the 4.10 gears necessary or can I get away with the smaller base gearing?

Also I'm leaning towards a manual gear box just because an 8 speed seems problematic especially for bigger tires...

Any thoughts and inputs would be greatly appreciated.
Sponsored

tcadaniel

First Name
Dan
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 JL Rubi
Not to be a party pooper, but, you should get an older Jeep and a car. 20k a year is a lot mileage especially with a modified Jeep.

If you must, the Rubicon is very nice. Better axels, 4.10, better transfer case, etc. You will need to re-gear a Sahara or sport. You might even need to re gear the rubi. But not right away.

Also, the 8 speed is really nice.

RisingEagle

First Name
Armond
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 JL 4DR Ocean Blue Rubicon
You can see the differences in the models here

https://www.jeep.com/compare/detailed-chart.html?modelYearCode=CUJ201810

But yes - the Rubicon is higher than the Sport/Sahara models (and comes with 33s already), the Rubi has a 4.10 ratio while the others is 3.45, Rubicon also comes with front/rear lockers and heavier axles - there are a ton of differences really.